Awards Business News

AIM Awards presented

By | Published on Wednesday 9 September 2015

AIM Awards 2015

So, it was the Association Of Independent Music’s Independent Music Awards in London last night, and if you were just expecting me to rock up this morning with a long list of winners and minimal preamble, well, you’re a shrewd little thing. Or possibly psychic. Are you psychic? What stories will we be discussing on the CMU Podcast this week? Hmm, impressive stuff.

Though you probably want to subscribe to said Podcast, just to confirm your psychic powers are actually real come Friday morning. Hey, hang on, it’s possible this intro to the list of winners from last night’s Independent Music Awards has ended up being a big plug for the CMU Podcast. But our podcast is independent. And about music. And was recently nominated for an award. So see, totally relevant. And if you’ve got a problem with that, well, you can use your psychic powers to mind-read my response.

Anyway, anyway, winners. Well done one. And all. And everyone. And you. And them. And especially Young Fathers for winning the Xfm-sponsored Best Difficult Second Album Award. Presumably next year AIM will have to introduce a Best Banter Award for the all-new Radio X to sponsor. Hey, they could give that to the CMU Podcast. Although, I don’t know that we’re ‘man’ enough for Radio X.

Anyway, this ended up being a really long preamble. So your physic assumptions were wrong after all. Fraud.

Independent Track Of The Year: FKA Twigs – Two Weeks
Independent Album Of The Year: Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep
Independent Video Of The Year: Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me
Best Difficult Second Album: Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too
Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Cities Of Darkscorch Boardgame

Most Played New Independent Act: Jungle
Best Live Act: All Time Low
Hardest Working Band: Swans
Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Wolf Alice

Independent Label Of The Year: Transgressive Records
Best Small Label: Erased Tape Records
Golden Welly Award For Best Independent Festival: Brainchild Festival

Indie Champion: Marc Riley, BBC 6 Music
Pioneer Award: Digby Pearson, Earache Records
Innovator Award: Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune
Outstanding Contribution To Music: Skepta