Artist News Awards Business News Labels & Publishers

AIM Independent Music Awards announces nominations

By | Published on Wednesday 19 July 2023

AIM Awards 2023

The nominations for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards are out. Leading the pack are Raye and Shygirl, who are both up for three prizes each – including going head-to-head in the Best Track and Best Album categories. Shygirl also gets further recognition beyond her three solo nominations thanks to guest vocals on a track that is up for Best Remix.

“This years’ AIM Independent Music Award nominees represent our diverse, dynamic and inclusive community, truly showcasing the incredible range of talent across all genres of the UK music scene”, says AIM chief exec Silvia Montello. “As the indie sector continues to grow, we look forward to celebrating the dedication of labels, artists and their teams”.

The awards will be dished out at the Roundhouse in London on 26 Sep. Right now, voting for Best Live Performer is open here.

And the nominees are:

UK Independent Breakthrough 
Ezra Collective (Partisan Records)
I.Jordan (Ninja Tune)
Overmono (XL Recordings)
Shygirl (Because Music)
Suki Waterhouse (Sub Pop)

Best Independent Track 
Connie Constance – Hurt You (Play It Again Sam)
Enny – Charge It (FAMM)
Four Tet – Three Drums (Text Records)
Makaya McCraven – Dream Another (XL Recordings)
Overmono – Good Lies (XL Recordings)
Raye & 070 Shake – Escapism (Human Re Sources)
Shygirl – Shlut (Because Music)
Sudan Archives – Selfish Soul (Stones Throw Records)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Spitting Off The Edge Of The World (feat Perfume Genius) (Secretly Canadian)
Yves Tumor – Echolalia (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape 
Bellah – Adultsville (Base N Rebulz / Marathon Music Group)
Enny – We Go Again (FAMM)
Jessica Winter – Limerance (Lucky Number)
Saint Joshua – EP2 (Ditto Music)
Yunè Pinku – Babylon IX (Platoon)

Best Independent Album 
Avelino – God Save The Streets (More Music Records / OddChild Music)
Kelela – Raven (Warp Records)
Little Simz – No Thank You (Forever Living Originals)
Nova Twins – Supernova (Marshall Records)
Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream of Doors (September Recordings)
Oliver Sim – Hideous Bastard (Young)
Raye – My 21st Century Blues (Human Re Sources)
Rina Sawayama – Hold The Girl (Dirty Hit)
Shygirl – Nymph (Because Music)
Wu-Lu – Loggerhead (Warp Records)

Best Independent Remix 
Björk – ‘Ovuke (feat Shygirl) (Sega Bodega Remix) (One Little Independent)
Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul – Cliche (Soulwax Remix) (Deewee / Because Music)
GLXY – Butterfly Effect (feat Hugh Hardie & Visionobi) (Nu:Tone Remix) (Hospital Records)
Oliver Sim – GMT (Jamie XX Remix) (Young)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Wolf (Boys Noize) (Secretly Canadian)

One To Watch 
Jessica Winter (Lucky Number)
Juice Menace (Supernature)
Flowerovlove (FAE GRP)
Laughta (CTRL Records)
Master Peace (PMR)

Best Independent Video 
Ezra Collective – No Confusion (feat Kojey Radical) (Partisan Records)
Kelela – Enough For Love (Warp Records)
Obongjayar – I Wish It Was Me (Live) (September Recordings)
Raye & 070 Shake – Escapism (Human Re Sources)
Wesley Joseph – Monsoon (EEVILTWINN)