Artist News Awards

AIM Independent Music Awards nominations announced

By | Published on Friday 22 July 2022

AIM Independent Music Awards

The nominations for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards have been announced, with multiple nods for the likes of Dave, FKA Twigs, Wet Leg, Nilüfer Yanya, Taahliah and more.

As well as shortlists for the bulk of the awards, a long old longlist has also been put up for the Best Live Performer category, with the decision of the overall winner being put to the public. Have a go at voting in that yourself here.

The big reveal of all the winners will take place at the Roundhouse in London on 28 Sep, followed by a live show that will be open to the public. More information on that is still to come, but I guess you can expect sets from some of the nominees. Have a look down the lists and try to guess who. Fun!

Here are all the nominees:

UK Independent Breakthrough: Children Of Zeus, Warmduscher, Knucks, Nova Twins, Wet Leg

International Breakthrough: Amyl And The Sniffers, Blxst, Kokoroko, Mdou Moctar, Mitski

Best Independent Track: Anz – You Could Be (feat George Riley), Dave – Starlight, FKA Twigs – Tears In The Club’ (feat The Weeknd), Jeshi – Protein (feat Obongjayar), Knucks & SL – Nice & Good, Nova Twins – Antagonist, Overmono – So U Kno, Wet Leg – Chaise Longue, Wu-Lu – Broken Homes, Yves Tumor – Jackie

Best Independent EP/Mixtape: FKA Twigs – Caprisongs, Joy Orbison – Still Slipping Vol 1, Surya Sen – At What Cost?, Taahliah – Angelica, Wesley Joseph – Ultramarine

Best Independent Album: Boj – Gbagada Express, Children Of Zeus – Balance, Cleo Sol – Mother, Dave – We’re All Alone In This Together, Dave Okumu – Knopperz, Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow, Mustafa – When Smoke Rises, Nilüfer Yanya – Painless, Sault – Nine, Walt Disco – Unlearning

Best [Difficult] Second Album: Black Country, New Road – Ants From Up There, Jana Rush – Painful Enlightenment, Nilüfer Yanya – Painless, Ross From Friends – Tread, Tirzah – Colourgrade

Best Independent Remix: ATO – No Caroline (Flohio Remix), Erike de Casier – Polite (Mura Masa Remix), Ibeyi – ‘Lavender & Red Roses (Champion Remix), MF Doom – Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man On Fire Remix), Shygirl – BDE (Kaydy Cain Remix)

One To Watch: Barry Can’t Swim, Jeshi, Léa Sen, Nia Archives, Taahliah