Artist News Awards Business News

AIM presented its awards last night, just so you know

By | Published on Wednesday 6 September 2017

Dillinger Escape Plan

The Association Of Independent Music staged its annual awards last night. And once again the major labels were completely overlooked. When will this bitter discrimination end? I hope next year we can see the lifting of AIM’s inexplicable boycott of major music companies – who after all release all the most popular (and therefore best) music. Warner Music for the 2018 Best Small Label prize, I say. The campaign starts here.

Anyway, this year AIM’s awards again only gave out trophies to independent music companies and artists. Taking home the big finale prize of Outstanding Contribution To Music were the Dillinger Escape Plan, who are in the midst of performing farewell shows ahead of a planned split at the end of this year.

Speaking to NME at the ceremony last night, drummer Billy Rymer said: “There just comes a point in every artist’s career that you feel you’ve kind of reached a point where this is the peak and it’s best to leave it on a high note. Collectively and creatively, we felt it was the right thing to announce that we were going to disband and put out this final record which we’re all incredibly proud of. I got to be part of a masterpiece finally, in this band”.

Here’s the full list of who won what:

Independent Track Of The Year: The xx – On Hold
Independent Album Of The Year: Stormzy – Gang Signs & Prayer
Independent Video Of The Year: DJ Shadow – Nobody Speak (feat Run The Jewels)
Best Difficult Second Album: Jlin – Black Origami
Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Lovely Creatures – The Best Of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (1984 – 2014)
Most Played New Independent Act: Stormzy

Hardest Working Group Or Artist: Shaodow
Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Sampha
Best Live Act: Counterfeit

Independent Label Of The Year: Because Music
Best Small Label: Planet Mu
Best Independent Festival: Lost Evenings

Indie Champion: Katie Riding & Joe Daniel – Indie Label Market
Innovator Award: Boy Better Know
Pioneer Award: Steve Beckett – Warp Records
Outstanding Contribution To Music: The Dillinger Escape Plan