Artist News Awards Business News

AIM’s Independent Music Awards to move online for tenth anniversary edition

By | Published on Wednesday 17 June 2020

AIM Awards 2020

The Association Of Independent Music has announced that its Independent Music Awards this year will be presented via a virtual ceremony. Before lockdown, the tenth anniversary edition of the event was originally set to take place at The Roundhouse in London in September. An online ceremony will now be broadcast in August instead.

In an attempt to recreate the awards ceremony experience for an audience at home, there will be live performances from a variety of artists, with Arlo Parks the first to be announced. As well as that, virtual attendees will be able to buy a special AIM Awards ‘pub in a box’ hamper ahead of the event.

Once you’ve drunk all that, just to ensure you get the full awards show experience, you’ll have to sort out drunkenly congratulating someone for an award they didn’t win while complaining that your work is under-appreciated, all by yourself in front of your laptop. Or maybe AIM could give everyone a random phone number to call in the toilet at half time so that you can share your misplaced congratulations and customary moans with someone else.

Commenting on the COVID-19 enforced reworked awards show, AIM CEO Paul Pacifico says: “As the ceremony evolves into a virtual event, it’s wonderful to see that this year’s list of nominees is also firmly on the cultural cutting edge. This is an eclectic and talented group of artists that truly represents the breadth, depth and diversity of independent music which these awards exist to celebrate. With our new virtual format opening the door to an exciting range of possibilities, we can’t wait to reveal what we have in store for August, and see where this year takes us”.

Oh yeah, there are nominations too! Don’t go thinking they’ve ditched those during all this. Awards will still be handed out, people. Pass it on. The two artists with the most nominations are drill rapper Digga D and jazz percussionist Moses Boyd. As I’m sure you predicted. They have three each.

Elsewhere, there’s a strong line-up for the newly introduced Best Remix category, and Afrobeat drummer Tony Allen will posthumously receive the Outstanding Contribution To Music trophy.

The ceremony will take place on 12 Aug. Here’s the full list of nominees:

UK Independent Breakthrough
Digga D
Fontaines DC
Moses Boyd

International Breakthrough
Floating Points
Hania Rani

Best Independent Track
AJ Tracey – Dinner Guest (feat Mostack)
Digga D – No Diet
Flying Lotus – More (feat Anderson .Paak)
King Krule – Alone, Omen 3
Lauv – Modern Loneliness
Sorry – Right Round The Clock
Squid – Sludge
Sudan Archives – Confessions
Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela – We’ve Landed
Yves Tumor – Gospel For A New Century

Best Independent Album
Brooke Bentham – Everyday Nothing
Everything Is Recorded – Friday Forever
Kidjo Ojua – The Mixtape
Kim Gordon – No Home Record
Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter
Moses Boyd – Dark Matter
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen
The Ninth Wave – Infancy
Phoenix Da Icefire & Husky Brown – Panacea
Sarathy Korwar – More Arriving

Best [Difficult] Second Album
Floating Points – Crush
FKA Twigs – Magdalene
Joe Armon Jones – Turn To Clear View
Life – A Picture Of Good Health
Moses Sumney – Græ

Best Independent Remix
Lafawndah – Tourist X Nídia Rework
King Of The Rollers – You Got Me (SPY Remix)
Makaya McCraven/Gil Scott-Heron – We’re New Again
Apparat – Outlier (Solomun Remix)
Marie Davidson – Work It (Soulwax Remix)

One To Watch
Arlo Parks
Blanco White
Greentea Peng
Lavida Loca

Best Creative Packaging
Digga D – Double Tap Diaries
Hania Rani – ‘Esja’ Sheet Music Book
Motörhead – 1979
Sophie – Oil Of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides Non-Stop Remix Album
Moses Boyd – Dark Matter LP (Dinked Edition)

Best Independent Video
Black Pumas – Colors
Bombay Bicycle Club – Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)
Flying Lotus – Black Balloons Reprise (feat Denzel Curry)
Greentea Peng – Mr Sun (Miss Da Sun)
The Howl & The Hum – The Only Boy Racer Left On The Island
Zebra Katz – Moor

Outstanding Contribution To Music
Tony Allen