Artist News Awards

Anderson Paak, Jorja Smith and more on BBC Sound Of 2017 longlist

By | Published on Monday 28 November 2016

Anderson Paak

The BBC has revealed its Sound Of 2017 longlist this morning, featuring the fifteen new acts its panel of 170 or so pundits are most excited about in the coming twelve months.

The top five will be announced by Huw Stephens and MistaJam on Clara Amfo’s Radio 1 show each day of the first week of next year, starting on Monday 2 Jan. Among the names on the list this year are Jorja Smith, Ray BLK, Nadia Rose, The Japanese House, Maggie Rogers, Stefflon Don and Raye.

“The BBC Music Sound Of panel, always the broadest and most objective list of new music tastemakers assembled each year – which now includes international voices too – has delivered yet another exciting and diverse list of new and emerging talent to look out for next year”, says BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra Head Of Music Chris Price. “These are the names that will capture the imagination of music lovers the world over in 2017, and I’m delighted to say that every single one has already received significant support on Radio 1 and 1Xtra, both in evening and daytime shows”.

He continues: “They join former winners – and now household names – such as Adele, Ellie Goulding, Sam Smith and Years & Years, continuing Radio 1 and 1Xtra’s commitment to discovering and breaking new talent on the global stage. Judging by the crop of talent on this year’s long list, there’s no shortage of future stars to choose from”.

Here’s the full longlist:

• AJ Tracey
• Anderson Paak
• Cabbage
• Dave
• Declan McKenna
• Jorja Smith
• Maggie Rogers
• Nadia Rose
• Rag N Bone Man
• Ray BLK
• Raye
• Stefflon Don
• The Amazons
• The Japanese House
• Tom Grennan

Last year’s poll was, of course, topped by Jack Garratt, who I think we can all agree doesn’t deserve the rest of this sentence that you just wrote in your head. He’s playing The Brighton Dome tonight. Why not go and see what all the fuss was about?

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |