Artist News Awards Business News Management & Funding

Breakthrough category nominees announced for Artist And Manager Awards

By | Published on Friday 21 October 2022

Artist And Manager Awards

The nominees for the Breakthrough Artist and Manager categories at this year’s Artist And Manager Awards have been announced, ahead of next month’s ceremony.

Among them are PinkPantheress, Self Esteem and Wet Leg on the artist side, and Deleon Blake, Josh Sanger and Phoebe Gold on the management side. As well as that, Red Light Management has been confirmed as winner of the Writer/Producer Manager Award.

“It was incredibly tough deciding on this year’s Breakthroughs, but I think we’re finally satisfied that these two shortlists reflect the past year’s range of managerial and artist successes”, says MMF CEO Annabella Coldrick.

“I’m also really pleased that we can recognise the achievements of Red Light Management with our Writer/Producer Manager Award”, she adds. “As highlighted by the MMF’s most recent ‘Managing Expectations’ report, the vast majority of our members also represent songwriters and producers and it’s truly impressive to see how James [Sandom], Tyler [Brown] and their team have cultivated such a diverse and successful roster”.

One other newly announced winner is Music Declares Emergency, which will take away the Industry Champions trophy. Featured Artists Coalition CEO David Martin comments: “Music Declares Emergency have brought a new sense of urgency to how the industry approaches climate change”.

“Alongside their enormously impactful campaigns”, he adds, “the organisation is also seeding much-needed practical advice – helping to highlight historical music industry practices that can be harmful to the environment, while providing guidance and support to help the sector tour and release music more sustainably. FAC and MMF are proud to be supporters of their work”.

Now, here are the nominees for the Breakthrough categories in full:

Breakthrough Artist:
Cat Burns
Sam Ryder
Self Esteem
The Snuts
Wet Leg

Breakthrough Manager:
Callum Reece, One House (Eliza Rose, Sherelle, CKTRL)
Deleon Blake, Grumpy Old Management (Griff)
Hannan Malik, Nowherenear (Plested, Mac & Phil, KIN, Billy Khan, Deeps, Romain, ADP, Alan Sampson)
Josh Sanger, Deep End Management (Holly Humberstone)
Nimesh Jani, Catalyst Management (Sam Tompkins)
Phoebe Gold, Up Close Management (PinkPantheress, Tommy Gold)
Sandy Abuah, Dion Hamilton & Markhenry Nwachukwu, Tru Tribe (Knucks)
Sarah M, Muise Management (ShyGirl, Cobrah, Lou Hayter)

The ceremony will take place at London’s Bloomsbury Big Top on 17 Nov.