Artist News Awards Business News Gigs & Festivals Management & Funding One Liners Releases

CMU’s One Liners: Mercury Prize, Momentum Music Fund, The Avalanches, more

By | Published on Tuesday 19 July 2016

Mercury Prize

Other notable announcements and developments today…

• The judging panel for this year’s Mercury Prize has been announced. They are musicians Jessie Ware, Jarvis Cocker, Kate Tempest, Jamie Cullum, Ellie Rowsell from Wolf Alice and Naughty Boy, radio types Jeff Smith, Clara Amfo and Annie Mac, plus journos Phil Alexander, Harriet Gibsone and Will Hodgkinson. “I’m glad I’m not one of them”, insists Shaun Keaveny.

• Speaking of the Mercury Prize, the shortlist of twelve albums will be announced 4 Aug. In a change to the usual proceedings, a public vote will then weed out the six worst ones, with the judges choosing the winner from the remaining six. “I’m really looking forward to finding out this year’s shortlist”, insists Shaun Keaveny.

• Arts Council England has confirmed that it will provide another £1 million to keep the PRS For Music Foundation managed Momentum Music Fund going. If you fancy some of that cash, you can apply for the next round of grants here.

• Speaking of the Momentum Music Fund, the latest eighteen acts to benefit from it are: Afriquoi, Azekel, Charlie Cunningham, Eli & Fur, Employed To Serve, Eska, Flamingos, Hooton Tennis Club, Kagoule, Levelz, Life, ROM, Speech Debelle, Swindle, Ten Fè, This Is The Kit, Throwing Shade and Tom Misch.

• The Avalanches have announced that they are postponing a number of UK shows, as the group’s Tony Di Blasi requires medical treatment in Australia.

• Prophets Of Rage have released their first track. It’s called ‘Prophets Of Rage’.

• GOOD Music signing Kacy Hill has released the video for new single ‘Lion’, the first track from her debut album, which is due out in the autumn.

• Red Fang have announced that they will release new album, ‘Only Ghosts’, on 14 Oct. From it, this is ‘Flies’.

• Jóhann Jóhannsson has announced that he will release his first solo album for six years, ‘Orphée’, on 16 Sep. From it, this is ‘Flight From The City’. He’s also playing the Barbican in London on 9 Dec.

• Honeyblood are back with a new single, ‘Ready For The Magic’. The track is taken from new album ‘Babes Never Die’, which is due out on 4 Nov.

• Orka have released another single from their excellent new album ‘Vað’. Watch the video for ‘Igulker’ here.

• Batteries have released the lyric video for new single ‘Pigs’. New album ‘The Finishing Line’ is out on 5 Aug.

• Pascal Pinon have released another track from their forthcoming new album, ‘Sundur’. Listen to ‘Orange’ here.

• Because such a thing was surely inevitable, Akira The Don has done a remix of the ‘Pokemon Go’ theme tune.

• Kate Jackson, formerly of the Long Blondes, has announced tour dates for September and October. Her debut solo album, ‘British Road Movies’, is out now.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |