Artist News Awards Business News Digital Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

CMU’s One Liners: Spotify, Robbie Williams, Take That, more

By | Published on Wednesday 1 March 2017


Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Spotify is removing it messaging function, due to the “huge disparity between the use of the feature and the manpower required to maintain it”.

• Robbie (Williams) has released the video for new single ‘Mixed Signals’. It was written by Brandon Flowers and features musical instrument playing from all members of The Killers.

• Take That have released the lyric video for new single ‘Giants’, so you can stop going on and on about it now.

• Sylvan Esso have announced that they will release new album ‘What Now’ on 28 Apr. Here’s new single ‘Die Young’.

• Dutch Uncles have released a new video for ‘Oh Yeah’. It features frontman Duncan Wallis roller skating with Stealing Sheep. Dutch Uncles’ tour starts in Edinburgh tonight too.

• Peaking Lights have returned with a new single, ‘Little Flower’, which features actor Chloë Sevigny.

• Following on from new single ‘Swans’, White Kite have released it’s b-side, ‘Curtain Call’, which is also very good.

• Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs have released their first single for five years, ‘Slow Motion Replay’.

• Loyle Carner is going to play Brixton Academy on 6 Oct.

• 6lack will play London’s Jazz Café on 26 Mar. Tickets are available now. Here’s his new track, ‘First Fuck’, featuring Jhené Aiko.

• Parekh & Singh have announced a tour of the UK and Ireland in May, including a show at The Courtyard Theatre in London on 23 May.

• Submissions are now being taken for this year’s Scottish Album Of The Year Award. Put forward your Scottish records here. The longlist will be announced on 24 May.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | |