Dark Night Of The Soul gets official release

By | Published on Friday 23 April 2010

The long-awaited release of ‘Dark Night Of The Soul’, that collaboration between Danger Mouse and the late Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse, featuring guests including The Flaming Lips, Gruff Rhys, Julian Casablancas, Black Francis, Iggy Pop, Suzanne Vega and Vic Chesnutt, will finally be released in July via EMI/Parlophone.

The album was shelved almost a year ago due to an unspecified legal dispute with EMI. Despite this, Danger Mouse started selling the artistic products designed to accompany the album – a book and poster of David Lynch photos – along with a branded CDR stamped with the words: “For Legal Reasons, enclosed CD-R contains no music. Use it as you will” – the implication being that fans should look for the already leaked album on P2P networks. But now, finally, after months of talks, the album proper will see the light of day on 12 Jul.

The album, of course, will now also possibly be the final new release from Linkous, who committed suicide in March. His family have issued a statement, which reads: “Mark felt that it was an honour to be able to collaborate with so many of the artists on this record. His time and dedication to this project was immense and his hopes for its release are finally being realised. We are glad that people will now be able to hear these songs and know the beautiful gift that Mark shared with all of us through his music”.
Danger Mouse added: “I told Mark that we’d worked things out with EMI back in January and he was very happy that the album was finally going to be released this year. Mark meant a great deal to a lot of people and I’m grateful to have made music with him and to be a part of his legacy”.
For more info, check out: