Artist News Releases

Deerhoof float info on new LP, La Isla Bonita

By | Published on Thursday 21 August 2014


America’s Deerhoof, a band from the odd side of pop city, will on 4 Nov release a new LP, the sequel to 2012’s superlative ‘Breakup Song’.

With a title loaned off of Madonna, ‘La Isla Bonita’ – says its press release – pays lip service to the likes of David Bowie, Radiohead, Ric Ocasek, Beck, The Roots, Lou Reed, David Byrne, Sonic Youth and The Flaming Lips. A broad palette, I’d say.

Noting the fact that Deerhoof have been active since 1994, drummer Greg Saunier, who’s been in the band from day one, makes this general comment on the record: “No band is an island. Felt like one sometimes, in those budgetless and obscure early days, Satomi and me locked in the basement trying to figure out how our clashing personalities and ideas could turn into a band. If we hadn’t had that crazed mid-90s Bay Area punk scene to call home, I doubt we’d still be here to chat about a 20th anniversary.

And yet here they are.

Greg adds finally: “We don’t set out to create masterpieces. The Deerhoof fan is a thrill-seeker. This is the latest volley in an ongoing conversation we’ve been honored to hold for 20 years”.

Now hold tight for a ‘La Isla Bonita’ tracklist, and also for ‘La Isla Bonita’ single 001, ‘Exit Only’:

Paradise Girls
Mirror Monster
Last Fad
Tiny Bubbles
Exit Only
Big House Waltz
God 2
Black Pitch
Oh Bummer