Artist News Gigs & Festivals Releases

Editors announce new album, EBM

By | Published on Thursday 9 June 2022


Editors have announced that they will release their seventh album, ‘EBM’, later this year. The LP will be their first with new band member Benjamin John Power, aka Blanck Mass.

Speaking about the album, Power says: “There is a strong physicality to this record. ‘EBM’ started its life with the intention of connecting with people and filling a very physical space. There is also however an emotional physicality running throughout; an urgency and a sense of panic. An unease. Even in its more tender moments there is a yearning for connection”.

Speaking about how Power joining has affected the band, frontman Tom Smith adds: “Ben has certainly been a shot of adrenaline in our creative process. The songs are so immediate and in your face”.

The first single is ‘Karma Climb’, of which Smith says: “It’s about hedonistic escapism, not only from the world generally, but also from what people think of you”.

The band have also booked UK and Ireland tour dates for the beginning of next year. Tickets go on general sale tomorrow. Here are the dates:

25 Jan: Nottingham, Rock City

27 Jan: Manchester, Academy

29 Jan: Glasgow, Barrowland

30 Jan: Dublin, National Stadium

1 Feb: London, Troxy

2 Feb: Bristol, Marble Factory

Watch the video for ‘Karma Climb’ here: