Artist News Gigs & Festivals Media Releases

Ezra Furman to release Sex Education soundtrack this week

By | Published on Wednesday 22 January 2020

Ezra Furman

Ezra Furman has announced the release of a new soundtrack album for the Netflix show ‘Sex Education’, the second series of which went live last week. The nineteen track release pulls together original songs written for the programme, as well as covers and pre-existing tracks that feature in it.

“Making music for a TV show was a new experience for me”, says Furman. “As a fan of many a high school comedy – for example ‘The Breakfast Club’ and ‘Ten Things I Hate About You’ – I knew how fun the music can be, and also how emotional. I wanted to rise to the challenge”.

“I decided I’d use the ‘Sex Education’ project as a place to put my tenderness, my sadness and longing”, she continues. “The soft teenage feelings that every adult knows continue long after high school ends. [The show’s makers] trusted us completely”.

She adds: “They were like, ‘you know what to do’. I try to imagine what’s going to be on screen as a jumping-off point, but they don’t need songs that fit, they need songs of a high quality, that come from a real place. That’s why they wanted me, I guess. Also, I guess they noticed an exuberant vulnerability. I lay all my feelings out there”.

‘Sex Education OST’ will be released digitally this week, with physical versions to follow in April. Here’s a track from the album, ‘Every Feeling’:

Furman will also be touring the UK in May. Here are the dates:

2 May: Leeds, Live At Leeds
3 May: Glasgow, Stag & Dagger
4 May: Birmingham, The Mill
5 May: Brighton, St George’s Church