Artist News Festival Line-Up Update Gigs & Festivals

Festival line-up update – 13 Feb 2013

By | Published on Wednesday 13 February 2013

Sonar Barcelona

So, Sonar’s original bash in Barcelona – a festival of two alternatively-lit halves, Sonar By Day and Sonar By Night – has moved its daytime programme to a new space, Fira Montjuïc at the city’s Plaça d’Espanya. That’s rather than its traditional holding at Barcelona’s Museu d’Art Contemporani, by the way. The By Night fiesta will still take place, as in past years, at Fira Gran Via, which is in fact nearer to the new By Day site, so that’s nice.

By the way of actual artist additions, which is what we’re really interested in, Sonar Barcelona has just named TNGHT, Justice, AlunaGeorge, Soulwave and Diplo (who’s re-listed again as Major Lazer); meanwhile Leicestershire’s Strawberry Fields has picked The Enemy, Jaguar Skills and X-Press 2 to play amid its patch of 2013 acts; and Evesham-based festival-of-all-things-asparagus-like Asparafest has made Gus The Asparagus Man its very apt first booking. If you love asparagus, read on:

ASPARAFEST, Ashdown Farm, Evesham, 1-2 Jun: Gus The Asparagus Man.

SONAR BARCELONA, Fira Monjuic/Fira Gran Via, Barcelona, Spain, 13-15 Jun: Diplo, Justice, Busy P, Soulwax, AlunaGeorge, Major Lazer, TNGHT, Breakbot, Seth Troxler, Jamie Lidell, Karl Hyde, Raime, Objekt, Oneman, Gluteus Maximus, East Everything, C2C, Francesco Tristano, Dinos Chapman, Ólafur Arnalds, Matthew Herbert, Modeselektor, Nacho Marco, Mary Anne Hobbs, Fatima Al Qadiri, BeGun, bRUNA, Krystal Klear, Anenon, Jools Hunter & UMA, Panoram, Mr Beatnick, Ulf Eriksson, Baris K, Le K.

STRAWBERRY FIELDS FESTIVAL, Cattow Farm, Heather, Leicestershire, 9-11 Aug: The Enemy, Jaguar Skills, The Cuban Brothers, X-Press 2, The Other Tribe, Discopolis, The Lines, Troumaca, Andy H, 2 Bad Mice, Pete Gooding, Robot 84, Phil Dockerty, Danny Whitehead, Highlife, Murray McKee, Tyler Mae, Fitz, Mia & The Moon, The Legitimate Gentlemen, Mike Beck, Drive & Hedgehog, Mikey Dunne, Arnivore, New Walk, Plastic Soul, DJ Fee, Chris Hovey, Mark Gardner & Steve Morley, James Connor, Ed Lee, Gecko Mafia, The SFF Sunday Disco.