Artist News Awards Management & Funding

First Steve Reid InNOVAtion Award winners announced

By | Published on Wednesday 21 January 2015

Steve Reid

Five “boundary pushing unsigned artists” have been announced as recipients of the rather new Steve Reid InNOVAtion Awards, a programme being jointly run by the PRS For Music Foundation and the Steve Reid Foundation established in memory of the legendary drummer by Gilles Peterson in 2011.

The winners receive both cash and mentoring under the scheme, and those winners are Moses Boyd, Sarathy Korwar, Wu-Lu, Hector Plimmer and Lady Vendredi.

Says Peterson in a rather brief exclamation: “Steve Reid was passionate about new artists and experimental music and would have loved this!”

While PRS For Music Foundation chief Vanessa Reed added: “The response to this first edition of the Steve Reid InNOVAtion awards reflects the inventiveness and imagination of the UK’s next generation of music pioneers. Congratulations to the five artists who’ve been selected. I look forward to seeing how their work develops as they receive mentorship and support”.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | |