Folk Award nominations out

By | Published on Wednesday 19 January 2011

Radio 2

The nominations are out for this year’s Radio 2 Folk Awards, which will be broadcast live on the BBC station for the first time this year. Singer-songwriter Donovan will get the lifetime achievement gong while the rest of the noms look like this:

Folk Singer Of The Year: Chris Wood, Heidi Talbot, Jon Boden, Kris Drever.

Best Duo: Chris While & Julie Matthews, Eliza Carthy & Norma Waterson, Megson, Nancy Kerr & James Fagan.

Best Group: Bellowhead, Breabach, Coope Boyes & Simpson, Fisherman’s Friends.

Best Album: Coope Boyes & Simpson – As If…, Eliza Carthy & Norma Waterson – Gift, Chris Wood – Handmade Life, Bellowhead – Hedonism.

Best Original Song: Chris Wood – Hollow Point, Nancy Kerr & James Fagan Queen Of Waters, Laura Marling – Rambling Man, Emily Portman – Stick Stock.

Best Traditional Track: Bellowhead – New York Girls, Andy Irvine – The Demon Lover, Eliza Carthy & Norma Waterson – Poor Wayfaring Stranger, Heidi Talbot – Willie Taylor.

Horizon Award: Emily Portman, Ewan Mclennan, Fay Hield, Jonny Kearney & Lucy Farrell.

Musician Of The Year: Andy Cutting, Brian Finnegan, Michael Mcgoldrick, Richard Thompson.

Best Live Act: Bellowhead, Fiddlers’ Bid, The Demon Barbers, The Unthanks.

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award: Adam Holmes, David Gibb & Elly Lucas, Mairi & Steaphanaidh Chaimbeul, Moore/Moss/Rutter.