Folk Award noms out

By | Published on Thursday 24 November 2011

Radio 2

The noms are out for the 2012 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, which will take place in Salford next February, the first time they’ve been staged outside of London town. Coming up, the shortlists, but first a very quick quote from Radio 2 Head Of Music Jeff Smith: “Folk is an important component of the network’s specialist music offering, and Radio 2 is looking forward to welcoming hundreds of our listeners to the thirteenth Radio 2 Folk Awards”.

Folk Singer Of The Year: Jon Boden, Jackie Oates, Emily Smith, June Tabor

Best Duo: Tim Edey & Brendan Power, Jonny Kearney & Lucy Farrell, Spiers & Boden, Marry Waterson & Oliver Knight

Best Group: Bellowhead, The Home Service, June Tabor & Oysterband, The Unthanks

Best Album: Last – The Unthanks, Purpose & Grace – Martin Simpson, Ragged Kingdom – June Tabor & Oysterband, Saturnine – Jackie Oates

Best Original Song: The Herring Girl – Bella Hardy, Last – Adrian Mcnally (Performed By The Unthanks), On Morecambe Bay – Kevin Littlewood (Performed By Christy Moore), The Reckoning – Steve Tilston

Best Traditional Track: Bonny Bunch Of Roses – June Tabor & Oysterband, Lakes Of Ponchartrain – Martin Simpson, Maids When You’re Young – Lucy Ward, Sweet Lover Of Mine – Emily Smith

Horizon Award: Megan Henwood, Lady Maisery, Pilgrims’ Way, Lucy Ward

Musician Of The Year: Andy Cutting, Tim Edey, Will Pound, Martin Simpson

Best Live Act: Bellowhead, The Home Service, Peatbog Faeries, The Unthanks

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award: Sunjay Brayne, Blair Dunlop, Ioscaid, Graham Mackenzie