And Finally Artist News Awards

Iggy Pop to receive Polar Music Prize

By | Published on Tuesday 8 February 2022

Iggy Pop

Iggy Pop and Ensemble Intercontemporain have been announced as the winners of this year’s Polar Music Prize. Each will receive one million Swedish kroner (about £83,000) and a nice trophy at a ceremony later this year.

“We are delighted to return in 2022, after a two year absence due to the pandemic, with two incredibly worthy laureates”, says award MD Marie Ledin. “Iggy Pop is unique, there is no one else quite like him. Ensemble Intercontemporain are a ground-breaking collective and their work has helped push the boundaries of modern classical music. We’re THRILLED that we can come together to honour and celebrate the important work of both of these laureates”.

Iggy Pop adds: “I was aware of the very fine range of people that had gotten the Polar Music Prize, so it’s a nice step for me. I respect it and I’m honoured by it. I’m looking forward to coming to Stockholm in May to receive the prize”.

Meanwhile, Matthias Pintscher, musical director of Ensemble Intercontemporain, comments: “I’m beyond excited to be coming to Stockholm in May to receive the Polar Music Prize in honour of the Ensemble Intercontemporain”.

Launched in 1992 by Abba manager Stig Anderson, the Polar Music Prize’s first recipient was Paul McCartney. It now honours two recipients each year, one from popular music and one from classical.

The last winners before a pandemic forced hiatus were soprano Anna Netrebko and songwriter Diane Warren. Other previous winners include Bruce Springsteen, Björk, Patti Smith, Stevie Wonder, Joni Mitchell, Elton John and Metallica.

This year’s ceremony will take place in Stockholm on 24 May. Here’s a little interview with Iggy Pop, cos it’s always nice to hear him talk, isn’t it?