Artist News Awards

Ivor Novello Awards biked over to winners

By | Published on Thursday 3 September 2020

The Ivors

The winners of this year’s Ivor Novello Awards were revealed yesterday. Although, due to all the stuff and everything, there was no big ceremony. Instead, the awards show was broadcast on Apple Music 1, thanks to headline sponsorship from the streaming service.

Among those who had trophies couriered round to them were Dave, Labrinth, Little Simz and Calvin Harris. Meanwhile, Jamie Cullum took the big Best Song Musically And Lyrically prize for his song ‘Age Of Anxiety’, and this year’s Ivors Academy Fellowship was handed to Joan Armatrading.

Annie Lennox, who received the fellowship in 2015, said of that latter award: “Joan Armatrading was born to create beautiful music, as she has done so consistently over the decades of her life, as an outstanding singer, songwriter, recording artist and performer. With her definitive voice and unique guitar playing style, her songs are masterful classics. She is a legendary British artist who thoroughly deserves to be recognised and honoured with an Ivors Academy Fellowship. I’m THRILLED to know that she will soon be part of this incredible association”.

Commenting on all the winners, Ivors Academy Chair Crispin Hunt added: “The Ivors 2020 is a stunning roll call of songwriting and screen composing talent. I would like to congratulate every winner and nominee on their incredible achievements. The UK produces some of the most dynamic, creative and successful music creators in the world working across games, TV, film and recorded music”.

“Their talent is the reason that the music we all love exists”, he went on. “Each Ivor Novello Award is unique as it is presented to music creators by music creators on behalf of the Academy and is an expression of our admiration”.

And now, here’s the big long list of all the winners, with the all important writers and composers in brackets…

Best Song Musically And Lyrically: Jamie Cullum – Age Of Anxiety (Jamie Cullum)

Best Contemporary Song: Dave – Black (Dave and Fraser T Smith)

Best Album: Little Simz – Grey Area (Little Simz and Inflo)

Best Original Film Score: Midsommar (Bobby Krlic)

Best Original Video Game Score: Draugen (Simon Poole)

Best Television Soundtrack: Euphoria (Labrinth)

PRS For Music Most Performed Work: Calvin Harris and Rag N Bone Man – Giant (Calvin Harris, Jamie Hartman, Rag N Bone Man and Troy Miller)

Rising Star: Mysie

Songwriter Of The Year: Steve Mac

Ivors Academy Fellowship: Joan Armatrading

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | |