Artist News Releases

Kate Tempest announces new album, The Book Of Traps And Lessons

By | Published on Tuesday 30 April 2019

Kate Tempest has announced that she will release her third solo album in June. Titled ‘The Book Of Traps And Lessons’, the first single from the record is ‘Firesmoke’.

“I think of the song like a cleansing moment in the wider context of the record, in the same way that a relationship can be a cleansing moment in the wider context of a life”, Tempest says of the single. “A kind of a turning point. I wrote it for my woman. Inspired by her and everything that falling in love with her has taught me”.

The follow-up to 2016’s ‘Let Them Eat Chaos’, the new album has been in the works with producers Rick Rubin and Dan Carey for the last five years. It will finally be released on 14 Jun.

Watch the lyrics video for ‘Firesmoke’ here: