Kele Okereke makes Bloc Party Tapes mix

By | Published on Thursday 5 September 2013

Bloc Party

Bloc Party will, in a manner of speaking, break their very indefinite ‘indefinite hiatus’ via a new mix LP.

Carrying fifteen tracks compiled by Kele Okereke to signal his and BP’s dance-based origins, inspirations and admired acts, it’s the new instalment in !K7’s ‘Tapes’ series. And whilst it isn’t technically a ‘real’ Bloc Party release, it does feature Okereke’s mix of the band’s track ‘Obscene’, part of their EP ‘The Nextwave Sessions’, circa earlier this year.

Says Kele: “I hope that this mix will illustrate where my fascination with dance music has come from. To me dance music is about transcendence. I think this mix will show it’s not just a passing thing for me. It’s something that’s always been there and it’s something that I couldn’t live without”.

Bloc Party’s ‘Tapes’ is released 14 Oct, carrying this tracklisting:

Zia/Manifesto Meditations – Intro
Do Make Say Think – I Love You (La La La)
Tweak/Tony Allen – Leroy
Wiley – Numbers In Action (Sticky Remix)
Wookie feat Lain – Battle
French Fries – Space Alarm
Bloc Party – Obscene (Kele Okereke Remix)
Double 99 – RIP Groove
Fela Aniulapo Kuti & Afrika 70 – Shuffering & Shmiling
Torske – Jeg Vil Være Søppelmann
Larry Heard presents Mr. White – The Sun Can’t Compare (Long Version)
Cajmere – Percolator (Jamie Jones Vault Mix)
Junior Boys – Like A Child (Carl Craig Remix)
Vaghe Stelle – The Platform (Samoyed Remix)
Jacques Greene – The Look (Koreless Remix)