Artist News Awards

Lewis Capaldi, Mahalia, and Sam Fender make BRITs Critics’ Choice shortlist

By | Published on Thursday 29 November 2018

Lewis Capaldi, Mahalia, Sam Fender

The nominees for this year’s BRITs new talent focused Critics’ Choice Award are in. Would you like to know who they are? No? Well why are you even reading this then? I’m going to tell you anyway. They are Lewis Capaldi, Mahalia and Sam Fender.

“Absolutely honoured to have been shortlisted for this year’s BRITs Critics’ Choice award alongside two unreal artists”, says BRITs Critics’ Choice Award nominee Capaldi. “Genuinely cannot believe I’m being included in something like this and do not think I’ve done enough to be deserving of it! That being said, from here on in I will insist that those around me, including my mother and father, refer to me only as ‘BRITs Critics’ Choice Award nominee Lewis Capaldi'”. Don’t worry Capaldi, we’re already on it.

Mahalia adds: “I can’t believe it. I’m truly honoured to be nominated for the BRITs Critics’ Choice Award. The last year has been surreal to say the least but this really is the cherry on top. Thank you so much to all those who voted for me”.

I bet you’re thinking I’ve got a quote from Sam Fender for you now, aren’t you? Well, I’m nothing if not predictable – here’s what he has to say about this whole thing: “I’ve been watching the BRITs since I was a child, and my brother would let me stay up and watch them live; so to be nominated for the Critics’ Choice award is crazy. What an honour! A big thank you to anyone who has put their faith in my music”.

Launched in 2008, the new talent award’s shortlist is voted for by a crack team of journalists and heads of music at radio and TV stations, who aim to predict the identity of the new artist about to get all up in the public’s face. Previous winners include Adele, Florence And The Machine, Sam Smith and Rag N Bone Man. Last year’s winner was Jorja Smith.

The latest winner will be announced on 7 Dec, at which point they will receive their trophy, this year designed by architect David Adjaye.