Awards Media

Mixmag to identify greatest DJ ever

By | Published on Thursday 16 September 2010

DJ Mag may have their annual poll on best DJ in the world, but rivals Mixmag want to identify the greatest DJ of all time. They have got 35 influential dance music types, including other DJs and pundits, to nominate 35 contenders for the title of best ever deejay.

You can see a video from each nominator bigging up their nomination on Mixmag’s website. Clubbing fans are then encouraged to vote for their favourite. Voting is open until 15 Dec, with the overall winner to be announced in the February edition of Mixmag.

Here’s the shortlist of DJs with their nominators in brackets…

2ManyDJs (championed by Jaymo & Andy George)
Alfredo (championed by Danny Rampling)
Andrew Weatherall (championed by Erol Alkan)
Andy C (championed by Sub Focus)
Carl Cox (championed by Yousef)
David Mancuso (championed by Dany Krivit)
Derrick Carter (championed by Raf Rundell of Two Bears)
Eddie Halliwell (championed by Judge Jules)
Erick Morillo (championed by Sebastian Ingrosso of Swedish House Mafia)
Erol Alkan (championed by David Dewaele of Soulwax/2ManyDJs)
Fabio & Grooverider (championed by Technicolour)
Fatboy Slim (championed by Hervé)
Felix Da Housecat (championed by Kris Menace)
Francis Grasso (championed by Frank Broughton)
Francois Kevorkian (championed by Mala)
Frankie Knuckles (championed by Terry Farley)
Grandmaster Flash (championed by Niall Dailly of Jack Beats/Scratch Perverts)
Hatcha (championed by Artwork)
Jazzy Jeff (championed by A-Trak)
Jeff Mills (championed by Slam)
Jimmy Saville (championed by Bill Brewster)
Kool Herc (championed by Dominic Butler of Stanton Warriors)
Larry Levan (championed by Arthur Baker)
Laurent Garnier (championed by Layo Paskin of Layo & Bushwacka!)
DJ Marky (championed by Smithy of Total Science)
Optimo (championed by Mylo)
Paul Oakenfold (championed by Above & Beyond)
Paul van Dyk (championed by Gareth Emery)
QBert (championed by DJ Yoda)
Ricardo Villalobos (championed by Craig Richardson)
Richie Hawtin (championed by Seth Troxler)
Sasha (championed by James Zabiela)
Sven Vath (championed by Loco Dice)
Tiësto (championed by Sander van Doorn)
Tony De Vit (championed by Fergie)

Voting starts today at: