Artist News Releases

Morrissey announces May release for new covers album

By | Published on Wednesday 27 February 2019


Morrissey has announced the release date for his new covers album, ‘California Son’. He’s also released the first single, his version of Roy Orbison’s ‘It’s Over’.

First announced back in December, the album features twelve songs from the 60s and 70s originally by artists including Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan, Dionne Warwick and Carly Simon. It also features an array of collaborators, including Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear, Broken Social Scene’s Ariel Engle and Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong.

Recognising it’s not a great idea to ask Morrissey to open his mouth these days, the customary quotes that accompany news of the release come from others. First up, it’s son of Roy Orbison, Roy Orbison Jr, who gives Moz’s version of ‘It’s Over’ the Orbison family seal of approval.

“We love Morrissey”, says Orbison Jr. “Morrissey’s hair, and melancholy and poetic lyrics always reminded me of my dad. His version of ‘It’s Over’ is great”.

So there’s a thing. The next comment comes from American singer LP, who also appears on the cover of ‘It’s Over’, and who says: “When I would think of Morrisey and his music it was always with great respect and appreciation as I’m sure is the case with many of his fans”.

“However”, she adds ominously, “I soon realised when I hung out with him and he played me all the songs he was putting on this record that behind this was the heart of an audiophile and a deep fan of his own musical heroes. He is well versed in so many genres and knows deep cuts of artists I thought I knew so much about. It is inspiring to see the enthusiasm and intellect he brings to people through his own musical journey”.

Oh, that all turned out fine then. She doesn’t explain how Morrissey got so many cool artists to work with him at a time when his own public statements have proven so controversial. Maybe that’s something for single two. ‘California Son’ is out on 24 May. Here’s a full tracklist:

1. Morning Starship (Jobriath) with Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear
2. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell) with Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene
3. Only A Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan) with Petra Haden
4. Suffer The Little Children (Buffy St Marie)
5. Days Of Decision (Phil Ochs) with Sameer Gadhia of Young The Giant
6. It’s Over (Roy Orbison) with LP
7. Wedding Bell Blues (The Fifth Dimension) with Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day & Lydia Night of The Regrettes
8. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
9. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon) with Petra Haden
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | |