Music Week award winners

By | Published on Thursday 26 May 2011

Music Week

Hey guys, it was the bloody Music Week Awards on Tuesday night in fashionable London town, and as usual the great and the good (none of the bad, they were cleverly misdirected to an alternative venue down the road) of the British music business gathered in a very round house to well and truly slap on the back the greatest and the goodest of them all.

And who were most great and most good, I hear you ask? Well, couldn’t you go and check the winners list on the Music Week website? I mean, this is the one story you could be pretty certain they’d be reporting on, and I’m pretty sure the policy is that self-promoting reportage still sits outside the recently constructed paywall. But for you lazy dudes, I’m going to publish the list here too, even though that requires me to do a lot of formatting. Right, colons at the ready. And no laughing at HMV being declared Music Retail Brand of the year.

Independent Music Retailer: Resident Music Ltd
Music Retail Brand: HMV

Live Music Venue Of The Year: Concorde 2 (Brighton)
Live Promotion Team Of The Year: SJM Concerts
Festival Of The Year: T in the Park

Record Company Of The Year: Atlantic
Independent Record Company Of The Year: XL
The A&R Award: Parlophone
Publisher Of The Year: Universal
Independent Publisher Of The Year: Kobalt

National Station Of The Year: 6 Music
Regional Station Of The Year: Wave 105

Sales Team Of The Year: Sony Music
Distributor Of The Year: Arvato UK
Studio Of The Year: Abbey Road

Consumer-Facing Digital Music Service of the Year: Songkick
Business to Business Digital Service for the Year: Mobile Roadie

Artist Marketing Campaign of the Year: Alex Eden-Smith and Jude Stone from Parlophone for Tinie Tempah
Independent Artist Marketing Campaign Of The Year: Nicola Spokes from Ministry Of Sound Recordings for Example Won’t Go Quietly
Catalogue Marketing Campaign Of The Year: Jo Brooks & Nigel Reeve from EMI for David Bowie Station to Station
PR Campaign Of The Year: Richard Dawes from DawBell for Take That – Progress
Promotion Team of the Year: Atlantic Records

Music and Brand Partnership of the Year: Sarah Desmond from Universal Music and Steve Robertson from SEAT UK for On Track with SEAT UK
Music Sync of the Year: Nick Oakes from EMI Music Publishing for Kronenbourg 1664 – Slow Campaign

Producer Of The Year: Stuart Price
Manager Of The Year: Adam Tudhope

Julies Bicycle Green Business Award: The Premises Studios Ltd
International Achievement: Island Records
The Strat (Lifetime Achievement): Fran Nevrkla