Music Week Awards nominations announced

By | Published on Tuesday 19 April 2011

Music Week

Music Week has announced the nominees for this year’s Music Week Awards. We thought about doing it, but it only seemed appropriate to let them have first crack. Plus, they had the list and we didn’t, which did give them the advantage with regards breaking this story.

Taking the outstanding contribution award this year, or The Strat as they insist on calling it, is PPL chairman and CEO Fran Nevrkla. He’ll pick up his trophy along with all the other winners at The Roundhouse on 24 May.

Those nominations in full:

Independent Music Retailer: Badlands, Indulge Retail,, Resident Music Ltd, Rise Bristol

Music Retail Brand: Amazon, HMV, Parte

PR Campaign of the Year: Richard Dawes from DawBell for Take That – Progress, Janet Choudhury from EMI Records for Tinie Tempah – A Very British Rapper, Davis Paddy from Hall Or Nothing Independent Publicity for Tom Jones – Praise & Blame, Lauren Hales from Mercury Music Group for Rihanna – Loud, Beth Brookfield and Carl Fysh from Purple PR for Hurts – Happiness

Promotion Team of the Year: Atlantic Records, Columbia Records, Mercury Records, Parlophone Records, Virgin Records

Live Music Venue of the Year: Cheese & Grain (Frome), Concorde 2 (Brighton), LG Arena (Birmingham), O2 Academy Leeds, Royal Albert Hall (London)

Live Promotion Team of the Year: AEG Live, Beyond, Live Nation, New Vortex Jazz Club, SJM Concerts

National Station of the Year: 1Xtra, 6 Music, Classic FM, Radio 2, Smooth

Regional Station of the Year: Glide FM, Moray Firth Radio, Radio City, Real Radio, Wave 105

Sales Team of the Year: PIAS UK, Proper Music Distribution, Republic of Music, Sony Music, Warner Music

Distributor of the Year: Arvato UK, Discovery Records Ltd, Plastichead Music Distribution, Proper Music Distribution, Sony DADC

Consumer-Facing Digital Music Service of the Year: Amazon, eMusic, Fairshare Music, PledgeMusic, Songkick, We7

Julie’s Bicycle Green Business Award: Firefly Solar CIC, KOKO, The NEC Group, The Premises Studios Ltd, The Sage Gateshead, Truck Enterprises

Independent Artist Marketing Campaign of the Year: Ben Watt from Buzzin’ Fly Records/Strange Feeling Records for Tracey Thorn – Love And Its Opposite album, Jason Rackham from Cooperative Music/Kitsune for Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History, Nicola Spokes from Ministry Of Sound Recordings for Example – Won’t Go Quietly, Stephen Kersley from Proper Music Distribution for Bellowhead – Hedonism

Artist Marketing Campaign of the Year: Alex Eden-Smith and Jude Stone from Parlophone for Tinie Tempah, Clive Cawley from Vertigo for Arcade Fire – The Suburbs, Emma Powell from Polydor for Take That – Progress, Rob Owen and Dan Duncombe from Parlophone for Gorillaz – Plastic Beach, Shyamala Tharmendiran from Mercury Music Group for Rihanna – Loud

Catalogue Marketing Campaign of the Year: Jo Brooks & Nigel Reeve from EMI for David Bowie Station to Station, Johnny Hudson from Universal Music /UMSM for Paul McCartney & Wings Band On The Run, Peter Loraine from Polydor for ABBA Gold, Shyamala Tharmendiran & Nicola Melly from Mercury Music Group for Bon Jovi – Greatest Hits, Sue Armstrong from Universal for Sandy Denny Box Set

Business to Business Digital Service for the Year: get-ctrl, IMD Fastrax, Mobile Roadie, Omnifone

Music and Brand Partnership of the Year: Alex Lavery, Simon Rose and Charlie Coney from P&S and Golin Harris for Glenfiddich The Sound of Taste, Bob Workman from EMI Music for Gorillaz & Microsoft Internet Explorer 9 Beta – A creative partnership, Danielle Ford from Topman for Topman CTRL, Kirstie Macdonald from Material Marketing + Communications Ltd for T in the Park on behalf of DF Concerts Ltd and Tennent’s Lager, Sarah Desmond from Universal Music and Steve Robertson from SEAT UK for On Track with SEAT UK

Music Sync of the Year: Ayla Owen from Black Sheep Music/BBH & Karina Masters from Sony/ATV Music Publishing for Yeo Valley, Gary Welch from Westbury Music Ltd & Pete Raeburn from Soundtree Music for Volkswagen Last Tango in Compton, Nick Oakes from EMI Music Publishing for Kronenbourg 1664 – Slow Campaign, Pip Bishop & Chris Hodgkiss from RKCR/Y&R and Ali Johnson from Warner Music UK for Virgin Atlantic featuring Feeling Good by Muse, Stephen Phillips from Imagem Creative Services for IKEA Kitchen Party

Studio of the Year: Abbey Road, Air, Dean St Studios, Metropolis, Strongroom

Festival of the Year: Bestival and Camp Bestival, Creamfields, Glastonbury, Rock Ness, T in the Park

Music Mobile App of the Year: Exile On Your Street: Rolling Stones (Android and iPhone), Gig Finder (Ovi), iTunes Live (iPhone), Ninja Tune Official (iPhone), The xx (iPhone)