Artist News Awards Business News

Nominations for The Ivors announced

By | Published on Wednesday 19 April 2023

The Ivors

The nominations for this year’s Ivor Novello Awards have been announced. Out front this year are two songwriting duos – Harry Styles and Kid Harpoon, and Cleo Sol and Inflo – both of whom are up for three awards.

Among the nods for Styles and Harpoon are one for Songwriter Of The Year, all for their work on Styles’ latest album ‘Harry’s House’. Sol and Inflo, meanwhile, have their nominations spread across work with Sault and Little Simz.

Team Styles are also nominated for the Most Performed Work prize, up against songs including ‘Bad Habits’ by Ed Sheeran. That’s notable because ‘Bad Habits’ won the prize last year. This is the first time ever that a song has been up for the Most Performed Work prize two years in a row.

“The music nominated for an Ivor Novello this year is testament to the power and range of British and Irish songwriting and screen composing”, says Ivors Academy Chair Tom Gray. “It’s a superlative list and on behalf of The Ivors Academy I’m delighted to congratulate every writer nominated for their craft and achievements”.

The winners will be revealed at Grosvenor House in London on 18 May. Here are all the nominees:

Best Album
Sault – 11 (written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover, Jamar McNaughton, Cleopatra Nikolic and Jack Peñate)
Little Simz – No Thank You (written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover, Little Simz and Cleopatra Nikolic)
Fontaines DC – Skinty Fia (written by Grian Chatten, Thomas Coll, Conor Curley, Conor Deegan and Carlos O’Connell)
Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream Of Doors (written by Barney Lister and Obongjayar)
Arctic Monkeys – The Car (written by Alex Turner)

Best Contemporary Song
Wesley Joseph – Cold Summer (written by Wesley Joseph and Leon Vynehall)
Raye & 070 Shake – Escapism (written by 070 Shake, Raye and Mike Sabath)
Stormzy – Hide & Seek (written by Owen Cutts, P2J, PRGRSHN and Stormzy)
Knucks – Leon The Professional (written by Knucks, Venna and Toshifumi Hinata)
Kojey Radical feat Knucks – Payback (written by Knucks, Kojey Radical and Swindle)

Best Original Film Score
Avatar: The Way Of Water (composed by Simon Franglen)
Death On The Nile (composed by Patrick Doyle)
Don’t Worry Darling (composed by John Powell)
Mrs Harris Goes To Paris (composed by Rael Jones)
The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain (composed by Arthur Sharpe)

Best Original Video Game Score
Gotham Knights (composed by The Flight)
Horizon Forbidden West (composed by Joris de Man, Oleksa Lozowchuk and The Flight)
Mario + Rabbids Sparks Of Hope (composed by Gareth Coker, Grant Kirkhope and Yoko Shimomura)

Best Song Musically And Lyrically
Harry Styles – As It Was (written by Kid Harpoon, Tyler Johnson and Harry Styles)
Tom Odell – Best Day Of My Life (written by Laurie Blundell and Tom Odell)
Katie Gregson-Macleod – Complex (written by Katie Gregson-Macleod)
Florence And The Machine – King (written by Jack Antonoff and Florence Welch)
Sault – Stronger (written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Cleopatra Nikolic)

Best Television Soundtrack
Bad Sisters (composed by PJ Harvey and Tim Phillips)
Elizabeth: The Unseen Queen (composed by David Schweitzer)
The Midwich Cuckoos (composed by Hannah Peel)
The Responder (composed by Matthew Herbert)
The Thief, His Wife And The Canoe (composed by Harry Escott and Ben Pearson)

Most Performed Work
Harry Styles – As It Was (written by Kid Harpoon, Tyler Johnson and Harry Styles)
Ed Sheeran – Bad Habits (written by Fred, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran)
Glass Animals – Heat Waves (written by Dave Bayley)
Kate Bush – Running Up That Hill (written by Kate Bush)
Ed Sheeran – Shivers (written by Johnny McDaid, Kal Lavelle, Steve Mac and Ed Sheeran)

Rising Star Award
Cat Burns
Ines Dunn
Victoria Canal

Songwriter Of The Year
Central Cee and Young Chencs
Florence Welch
Harry Styles and Kid Harpoon
Rhian Teasdale and Hester Chambers (Wet Leg)
George Daniel and Matty Healy (The 1975)

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | |