Artist News Awards Business News Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: AC/DC, Radiohead, Oram Awards, more

By | Published on Tuesday 13 July 2021



Sony Music Publishing has announced a deal with Australian music firm Alberts, which will see the major administer the song catalogues of AC/DC, and also songwriting and production team Vanda, Young And Wright. “We are pleased to join forces with Alberts to deliver new opportunities for AC/DC and Vanda, Young And Wright”, says SMP CEO Jon Platt. “[CEO] David Albert and the Alberts team are leaders in shaping Australia’s modern music culture, and our shared ethos will be powerful in sustaining the global impact of these iconic catalogues”.

Universal Music has launched its Virgin Music Label & Artist Services business in Brazil, while also announcing a deal with one of the country’s largest indie labels, Work Show, with plans to boost its profile worldwide. Miguel Cariello, who will head up the new division, says: “I look forward to working closely with Work Show, and their incredible artist roster, to deliver a new and exciting chapter in the label’s history together”.

Universal Music Serbia and Virgin Music Label & Artist Services have announced a deal to distribute Serbian hip hop label Balkaton worldwide. “We are THRILLED to partner with Balkaton”, says Universal’s General Manager for the Western Balkans, Fabian Stilke. “Balkaton will continue to develop their artists and marketing campaigns, but will receive strong strategic consulting and access to a global network through Virgin Music Label & Artist Services, providing a regional and global infrastructure of support for their artists to grow”.



Australian record industry trade group ARIA has appointed Natalie Waller of broadcaster ABC as its new Chair. “I’m THRILLED to welcome Natalie as the new Chair of ARIA”, says CEO Annabelle Herd. “She has demonstrated an incredible knowledge of the scope and diversity of the Australian music landscape. We are thoroughly looking forward to the next two years and continuing our mission to communicate the true economic and cultural value of our amazing recording industry”.



Thom Yorke has released a remix of Radiohead‘s ‘Creep’, slowing the vocal down to stretch out over nine minutes and bathing it in waves of acoustic guitar and synths. Listen to ‘Creep (Very 2021 Remix)’ here.

Luke Hemmings has released the video for his new solo single ‘Starting Line’.

Nina Nesbitt has released new single ‘Summer Fling’.

Music is back. Chilly Gonzales says so. Listen to his new Toddla T produced track ‘Music Is Back’ now.

Amiina have released new short film ‘Pharology’, encompassing music from their recent EP of the same name.



The Oram Awards for women, girls and gender minority music creators in electronic music has put out an open call for nominations. Find out more and enter here.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |