Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Alt-J, Reef, Pepe Deluxé, more

By | Published on Thursday 4 November 2021



Kassner Music has signed Reef to a worldwide publishing deal, covering their back catalogue and upcoming new album. “I’m THRILLED”, says Brian Mahoney, Head of A&R at Kassner Music. “They’re a great addition to the roster and I’m extremely excited for everyone to hear new Reef music”.

Ingrooves in Australia has signed singer-songwriter Ziggy Alberts’ Commonfolk Records up to a global distribution deal. “I can’t wait to work with the wonderful team at Ingrooves”, says Alberts. “I love all the different genres they distribute, and I’m excited to continue innovating and improving how we release music in an ever-changing industry”. The first release under the deal will be Alberts’ own new single, ‘I Believe’, which is out tomorrow.



Pepe Deluxé have launched a virtual 3D gallery going behind the scenes of their new album, ‘Phantom Cabinet Vol 1’. It was created by Finnish design company Arilyn, whose founder Otso Kähönen says: “It has been extremely inspiring to stretch the limits of our new tools with Pepe Deluxé. This project is a perfect mix of art, music, history and storytelling, exactly what we love to do”. Delve in here.



Alt-J have released new single ‘Get Better’, taken from their new album ‘The Dream’, which is out on 11 Feb. They’ve also announced UK tour dates in May next year. Tickets go on general sale on 12 Nov.

James Blake has released the video for ‘Famous Last Words’ from his’ Friends That Break Your Heart’ album.

Foxes is back with new single ‘Sky Love’, which, she says, is about “craving the kind of love that seems unimaginable, drives you crazy and is all consuming. A love that feels otherworldly and like nothing you’ve felt before”. Her new album, ‘The Kick’, is out on 11 Feb.

Converge and Chelsea Wolfe have released another track from their upcoming collaborative album ‘Bloodmoon: I’. This is ‘Coil’.

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu has released the video for the title track of her new album ‘Candy Racer’.

Sunn O))) have announced a new live album, recorded at the BBC’s Maida Vale Studios, titled ‘Metta, Benevolence. BBC 6Music: Live On The Invitation Of Mary Anne Hobbs’. It also features contributions from Anna Von Hauswolff, who was touring with the band at the time of the recording in 2019. Here’s an excerpt from one of the tracks on the album, ‘Troubled Air’.

Pongo has released a new rework of her first track ‘Wegue Wegue’, originally released back in 2008 on Buraka Som Sistema’s ‘Black Diamond’ album. The release comes ahead of UK tour dates, which start this Friday in Manchester.

Emika has released ‘Professional Loving X’, a rework of of one of her early singles (later sampled by The Weeknd), which is taken from her upcoming tenth anniversary release, ‘Vega’. “The song is about the illusion of love in a professional world where everything beautiful isn’t real and no one can be truly trusted”, she says.

Attawalpa has released new single ‘Peter Gabriel’s Dream’, which is accompanied by a Lena Dunham-directed video. “In short, the song came to me in a dream”, he says. “The song is about lots of things but mainly the search for creativity and the struggles that can come with that. Whether it be artistic or romantic, the struggle to get out of bed. But like Peter Gabriel in the 80s – once you’re outta bed – the world is your oyster!”

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |