Artist News Business News Digital Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Atlas Music Publishing, Mixcloud, Julia Michaels, more

By | Published on Friday 8 February 2019

Scooter Braun

Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Scooter Braun’s Ithaca Holdings has acquired the Richard Stumpf founded Atlas Music Publishing. “Richard has built an incredible publishing business with Atlas and we are excited to bring him and his team into the family”, says Braun. “By working with Richard and his team, we will have a direct line to some of the most creative writers making the publishing process more streamlined and personal”.

• Mixcloud has hired Okayplayer’s Daniel Petruzzi as its Vice President Of Partnerships. “Daniel has played a critical role in establishing Okayplayer as a cultural force in the music world and beyond, helping to define and create the gold standard for online music communities comprised of both artists and fans”, says Mixcloud’s Nikhil Shah. “We are THRILLED to have him join Mixcloud’s New York office, where his culture marketing expertise and music industry knowledge will help us greatly expand our community in the world’s biggest market”.

• Julia Michaels has released the video for ‘What A Time’, her collaboration with Niall Horan.

• Diplo has released new track ‘Nine Shapes’, featuring Octavian. “I met Octavian at a party in London”, says the producer. “We took a photo and I never thought I would see the kid again. Over the next six months I kept hearing his name and seeing him on great songs. I tried to stay in touch even though he had another twelve phone numbers since we met. Finally, he was stuck in LA for a while and it was easy to pull up on him. After a few weeks we nailed this song and I’m glad it gets to finally see the light of day”.

• Dizzee Rascal has released the video for ‘Quality’, from his new EP ‘Don’t Gas Me’.

• Superorganism have released ‘Hello Me And You’, their contribution to the ‘Lego Movie 2’ soundtrack.

• That follows a collaboration between Beck, Robyn and The Lonely Island, ‘Super Cool’, also from the ‘Lego Movie 2’ soundtrack, which somehow I forgot to mention the other day.

• Kristen Hersh has released new single ‘Loud Mouth’, ahead of UK tour dates in March.

• Soak has released new track ‘Valentine Shmalentine’, just in time for Shmalentine’s Day.

• Tune-Yards’ Nate Brenner has announced his new solo project Naytronix. His debut album under the name, ‘Air’, will be out in May. From it, this is ‘Human’.

• The Coathangers have released new single, ‘F The NRA’. Frontwoman Julia Hugel has also published an essay on the motivation behind the track, featuring contributions from Kathleen Hanna, Fugazi’s Brendan Canty and Refused frontman Dennis Lyxzen.

• Fresh from her collaboration with Kid Koala on his new album, Trixie Whitley has announced that she will release her third solo album, ‘Lacuna’, on 29 Mar. From it, this is ‘Touch’.

• The Meat Puppets have announced UK and Ireland tour dates in June. New album, ‘Dusty Notes’, featuring the band’s original line-up, is out on 8 Mar. Here’s a track from it, ‘Nine Pins’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |