Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Aurora, Ciara, King Princess, more

By | Published on Friday 8 July 2022



Sony Music Publishing has signed songwriter/producer Jonas Jeberg to a worldwide publishing agreement. “Songwriting and producing songs is my passion”, he says. “Besides my wife and kids, there’s nothing I love more in this world! So, I’m very excited to work with the whole Sony Music Publishing team and their incredible roster of top-tier artists, songwriters, and fellow producers”.



Universal Music Australia has appointed Mark Holland as MD and Alicia Reynolds as GM of its EMI Records Australia label, replacing outgoing MD John O’Donnell who is retiring. Meanwhile, Yvette Cachia is joining the wider Universal Music Australia business as SVP People, Inclusion & Culture. Also, there have been a number of other executive promotions within UMA at large: Alisa Lai becomes Head Of Commercial Growth & Innovation, Fiona Zamparutti becomes Senior Director Of Streaming, and Liam Dennis is now GM Catalogue. And finally, at the major’s Island Records Australia division, Nicole Richards becomes co-MD.



Aurora has released ‘The Devil Is Human’, a track previously only available on the vinyl edition of her latest album ‘The Gods We Can Touch’. “We get sexualised by the world, and yet shamed for being sexual”, she says. “They want to possess you and own you, and even decide what you get to do with your own body. We are not free until all of us are free. The world have tried for many years to burn women who were strong, who were brilliant, brave and free spirited. The devil is human, or apparently the devil is a woman. You can burn the skin we live in, but you cannot burn the witch away”.

Following her recent signing to Universal’s Republic RecordsCiara has released new single ‘Jump’.

King Princess has released new Aaron Dessner-produced single ‘Change The Locks’.

Within Temptation have released new single ‘Don’t Pray For Me’. Says Vocalist Sharon den Adel: “‘Don’t Pray For Me’ strives against forcing beliefs and fears onto others and bears witness to being acceptive of everyone’s own journey. It is an anthem about coming to terms with the fact that beliefs can be fluid, multiple or frankly: different. The song is about allowing people to pursue their own destiny”.

Hot Chip are back with new single ‘Eleanor’. “It’s about the world smashing into you, waves crashing into you, all-encompassing pain, and how you have to walk through it”, says Alexis Taylor. “The verses are about separation when families are divided against their will. It’s about strong friends. It’s also about Samuel Beckett giving Andre The Giant lifts to school, and about how Beckett must have learned a lot from Andre’s wisdom”.

The Hu have announced that they will release their second album, ‘Rumble Of Thunder’, on 2 Sep. New single, ‘Black Thunder’, is out now.

Wargasm have released new single, ‘Fukstar’. “Every day the rich seem to get richer and the poor get left behind”, say the duo. “Old men are flying off in rockets with celebrities while murdering our environment. ‘Fukstar’ is the soundtrack to Wargasm’s disillusionment with the nature of the corporate billionaires, and the idiots that let them gain power, who seemingly have our world in a chokehold. You aren’t gods, you’re just another Fukstar”.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |