Artist News Awards Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: BBC Sound Of 2019, Lady Gaga, Steve Robson, more

By | Published on Friday 11 January 2019


Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Octavian has been crowned the winner of the BBC’s Sound Of 2019 poll. “I get inspired and I try to make a new sound every day”, says the producer. “It’s going to be a very loud year for me. Loads of music, loads of visuals, loads of albums”. Find out more here.

• Lady Gaga’s 2013 R Kelly collaboration ‘Do What U Want’ has now been removed from digital music services. Gaga announced earlier this week that she had requested the track be taken off digital platforms, at the same time apologising for her “poor judgement” in working with Kelly. Her comments came in the wake of that new US TV documentary series exploring numerous abuse allegations against her one-time collaborator.

• Concord Music has signed a new publishing deal with songwriter and producer Steve Robson. “He remains at the top of his game”, says Concord’s Kim Frankiewicz.

• Westlife have released their first reunion single ‘Hello My Love’.

• James Blake will release a new album, titled ‘Assume Form’, next week. Or so says a poster that has appeared on the London Underground. It will feature collaborations with Travis Scott, Andre 3000, Rosalia, Moses Sumney and Metro Boomin.

• Ryuichi Sakamoto has released a new video for ‘Energy Flow’, from his 1999 album ‘BTTB’, which will be re-issued in remastered form on 1 Mar.

• Enter Shikari have released a Dan Le Sac remix of ‘Rabble Rouser’. “It’s not often I get to play with such an unabashedly rambunctious track as ‘Rabble Rouser’, and I hope I’ve done it justice”, says Le Sac. “Enter Shikari had already hinted toward speed garage/138 breaks in the track, and I had a lot of fun shifting the focus and bringing that sweaty basement sound to the foreground”.

• New Beirut track ‘Landslide’ comes with a Monty Python and ‘Game Of Thrones’ inspired video.

• Having announced the existence of new album ‘Serfs Up!’ earlier this week, Fat White Family have now confirmed that it will come out on 19 Apr and released its first single, ‘Feet’.

• Kyary Pamyu Pamyu has released the video for new single ‘Oto Ni Kuni’, taken from her latest album ‘Japamyu’.

• Spangle Call Lilli Line have released a new album, ‘Dreams Never End’, marking their 20th anniversary. From it, here’s the video for ‘Mio’.

• Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | |