Artist News Business News Digital Gigs & Festivals Industry People One Liners Releases

One Liners: Beabadoobee, Diddy, Taylor Hawkins, more

By and | Published on Friday 17 June 2022



SoundCloud has hired Tracy Chan as SVP Creator. He moves over from Twitch, where he was Head Of Music. “It’s a momentous time to join SoundCloud”, he reckons. “A pioneering company that has continuously innovated and deepened its commitment to providing the best-in-class services and offerings that advance the careers of artists around the world. My previous experiences focused on helping artists thrive in the existing music economy. Now, at SoundCloud, my mission is building the new music economy to help artists thrive”.

Lucas Van Slegtenhorst has joined Utopia Music as VP Benelux. He was previously Head Of Benelux at Downtown Music Services. “With Lucas’s experience and trusted reputation I could think of no one better to lead the charge of Utopia’s mission of ‘fair pay for every play’ in Benelux”, says the company’s COO Roberto Neri.



Beabadoobee has released new single ‘10:36’. Her new album, ‘Beatopia’, is out on 15 Jul.

Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs has released new single ‘Gotta Move On’, featuring Bryson Tiller. He announced his return to music last month.

Headie One has released new track ‘Cloud’, featuring Luciano.

FKA Twigs has released new single ‘Killer’. “It’s dangerous to be a woman in love”, she says. “When at its worst the effects of heart break can define one’s trajectory much more than the beauty of the love itself, in my song ‘Killer’ I explore this concept. The navigation, the hunt and the kill”.

Flight Of The Concords’ Bret McKenzie has released new single ‘Dave’s Place’, taken from his upcoming solo album ‘Songs Without Jokes’. “Like most of my songs I wrote this one night at home in Wellington while strumming away on my guitar”, he says. “I then worked with producer Mickey Petralia in LA to develop the initial idea. What started off as a three-chord country song came out the other side an 80s ‘Blade Runner’, Dire Straits-esque jam. The song is called ‘Dave’s Place’ after the late Dave Bianco”.

Two Door Cinema Club have announced that they will release their new album, ‘Keep On Smiling’, on 2 Sep. Here’s new single ‘Wonderful Life’.

Rico Nasty has released new single ‘Black Punk’.

Razorlight are back with new single ‘Call Me Junior’. Lucky you.

Santigold has release ‘Ain’t Ready’. Her new album, ‘Spirituals’, is out on 8 Sep.

Lambchop will release new album ‘The Bible’ on 30 Sep. “I had this idea that – I’m not a religious person but I do believe that there’s a spirituality to a lot of people and they’re not religious”, he says in reference to the album’s title. “You don’t have to be religious to be a spiritual person, right? You just don’t have to, there should be an acceptance, or a way of recognising spirituality without it being overtly religious”. Here’s first single ‘Police Dog Blues’.

SBTRKT has released new track ‘Bodmin Moor’. He is set to release his first album since 2014 later this year.

Belief – aka Stella Mozgawa and Boom Bip – have released new track ‘Wot’. Mozgawa explains: “‘Wot’ is a playful track that we added last minute to the album. It has a cheeky, mischievous spirit that we felt was missing from the record. It all came together quickly and in a shared flow state”. Album? Oh yeah, that’s out on 15 Jul.

Russian Circles will release new album ‘Gnosis’ on 19 Aug. You can listen to new single ‘Condiut’ now.

Isabella Lovestory has released new single ‘Cherry Bomb’.

Katy J Pearson has released new single ‘Float’. Her new album, ‘Sound Of The Morning’, is out on 8 Jul.

Fable has released new single ‘Onion Brain’. “The main theme is the acceptance of loss, and the inseparable relationship of life and death”, she says. “I titled the track ‘Onion Brain’ with a hint to the Buddhist idea that the suffering we perceive is caused by there being a sufferer, a noun. We believe ourselves to be nouns, static and separate, but as we peel away the layers we realise we are but verbs – living, breathing, digesting our experience, always flowing and affected by the world around us”. Her debut album, ‘Shame’, is out on 29 Jul.

Senses Fail have released new single ‘End Of The World/Game Of Chess’, featuring SeeYouSpaceCowboy vocalist Connie Sgarbossa. The band’s new album, ‘Hell Is In Your Head’, is out on 15 Jul.



More guests have been added to the line-up of the Taylor Hawkins tribute show in London on 23 Sep. They are drummer John Paul Jones and Nandi Bushell, Nile Rodgers, Nirvana’s Krist Novoselic, producer Greg Kurstin, multi-instrumentalist Alain Johannes, and comedian Chris Rock. Tickets are on sale now.

The Libertines will play Wembley Arena on 23 Jul to mark the 20th anniversary of their ‘Up The Bracket’ album. Support will come from The Cribs, The Paddingtons, Louis Dunford and Amazonica. Tickets are available now.

Joey Bada$$ has announced UK tour dates in December this year, kicking off at the Roundhouse in London on 13 Dec. Tickets are on sale now. You could have got in the mood by listening to his new album, which was due out today, but it’s been delayed due to sample clearance issues – or at least that’s what he said on Twitter last night. However, there is this new collab track with Chance The Rapper.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |