Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers Management & Funding One Liners Releases

One Liners: Bob Crewe, Dave Grohl & Greg Kurstin, JP Saxe & Julia Michaels, more

By | Published on Thursday 10 December 2020



Reservoir has acquired the publishing catalogue of the late Bob Crewe, who wrote songs including ‘Walk Like A Man’, ‘Big Girls Don’t Cry’ and ‘Lady Marmalade’. “Not only are we honoured to bring Bob Crewe’s timeless works into our catalogue, but we are also so proud that this acquisition enables Dan Crewe to further his brother’s legacy and help bolster The Bob Crewe Foundation’s ongoing philanthropic efforts”, says Reservoir CEO Golnar Khosrowshahi.

America’s all new mechanical rights collecting society The MLC has announced that music data companies Blokur, Exactuals, Music Data Services and TuneRegistr are joining its Data Quality Initiative. “Our team is committed to making the process of checking data as efficient and effective as possible for all of our members”, says Kris Ahrend, CEO of The MLC. “Enabling innovative companies like these to make it easier for their users and customers to participate in our Data Quality Initiative helps The MLC achieve that important goal. We appreciate their willingness to help support the DQI”.



Management firm YMU has promoted Alistair White to UK Head Of Streaming & Audience. “As an artist management company YMU is facing unprecedented challenges and it is vital that we apply strategic thinking to how we best identify and engage audiences for our clients”, says White. “Over the ten years I have worked with [YMU music division MD] Iain [Watt] and the team we have put that type of approach at the heart of everything we do, so I am really happy to be given the responsibility of leading our efforts on that front”.

AIM has promoted Gee Davy to the role of COO, and appointed Ben Wynter as Entrepreneurship & Outreach Manager. “Throughout his career, Ben has shown the kind of entrepreneurial spirit that the independent sector thrives on”, says CEO Paul Pacifico. “In Gee’s promotion to COO, it is a real pleasure to be able to give her the recognition she richly deserves for the work she does for AIM’s team and community, which has extended well beyond her initial brief in legal and business affairs”.

Concord has hired Shooter Jennings as a staff producer. “I am excited to welcome Shooter to the Concord creative team”, says Chief Label Executive Tom Whalley. “His ability to work with a variety of artists is a perfect fit for our labels and their talented rosters”.



Dave Grohl and Greg Kurstin have announced that they will be releasing eight new songs to celebrate Hanukkah – one every night of the Jewish festival, which begins today. “Festival of lights?! How about a festival of tasty LICKS”, they say in a tweet.

JP Saxe and Julia Michaels have released festive collaboration ‘Kissin In The Cold’.

Emily Burns has teamed up with JP Cooper for a new version of her single ‘Is It Just Me? “When JP Cooper said he was up for featuring on the track I nearly lost my mind”, she says. “He rewrote the second verse and sent it back to me and honestly, when I heard it for the first time, every hair on my body stood up. The perspective he wrote from felt so perfect, as if he really understood and resonated with the message in the song”.

Cult Of Luna have released new single ‘Three Bridges’. The track is taken from their new EP ‘The Raging River’, which is set for release on 5 Feb.

Every Time I Die have released two new tracks, ‘A Collosal Wreck’ and ‘Desperate Pleasures’.

The Comet Is Coming have released new single ‘Imminent’, featuring Joshua Idehen.

Cherry Glazerr have returned with new single ‘Rabbit Hole’. “I often find myself acting a certain way to get someone else’s approval”, says band leader Clementine Creevey. “Then it’s hard for me to find myself again. I have to climb my way out of that conformity and embrace myself, even if that means not everyone is going to like me. Easier said than done! But it’s what I was meditating on with this song”.

Park Hye Jin and Nosaj Thing have released a new track together, ‘Clouds’.

FEMM have released a live performance video for their track ‘Sit Down’, from their recently released ‘404 Not Found’ EP.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |