Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers Management & Funding Media One Liners Releases

One Liners: BTS, CL, Ozzy & Sharon Osbourne, more

By | Published on Friday 22 October 2021



BTS are ending their distribution deal with Sony Music’s Columbia label and distribution division The Orchard, and are shifting to a new partnership with Universal Music’s Geffen label and distribution business Ingrooves. It’s not a massive surprise, as the group’s label and management firm Hybe has been working ever more closely with Universal since the beginning of this year, including setting up a joint venture label with Geffen to launch a new K-pop boyband.

South Korean rapper and singer CL has signed a new management deal with TaP Music. “CL is one of the world’s most compelling superstars, with a diverse body of work that has kept us all wanting more and a fiercely independent spirit that’s well matched to our own”, says TaP’s Global co-President Wendy Ong. “As a fellow Asian female leader in the music industry, I am proud and honoured to welcome CL to TaP Music and look forward to helping her expand her global fanbase”.

Toro Y Moi has signed a new record deal with Secretly Group’s Dead Oceans to release a new album in 2022. “I’m excited to begin this next chapter with Secretly/Dead Oceans”, says the musician. “Throughout the years they’ve continually maintained a conscious eye on the state of independent music and are pushing the boundaries of popular music”.



Spotify has promoted Sulinna Ong to Global Head Of Editorial. She was previously Head Of Music for the UK and Ireland.

The UK’s Association Of Independent Music has elected five new board members: Soundway’s Alice Whittington, Dirty Hit’s Jamie Oborne, Jackson Rackham of [PIAS], Beggars Group’s Ruth Barlow, and Stella Reid from Rough Bones.

Yvan Boudillet has joined Utopia Music as Head Of Policy. “I am truly THRILLED to join Utopia and contribute to fulfilling the bold vision of delivering a better world for music”, he says. “I cannot be more excited to join such a talented team led by [COO] Roberto [Neri], all of whom share the same values and passion”.



The love story of Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne is being turned into a feature film, just like you wanted. “Our relationship at times was often wild, insane and dangerous but it was our undying love that kept us together”, says Sharon Osbourne, who is producing alongside her children Jack and Aimée through their Osbourne Media company. “We’re THRILLED to partner with Sony Pictures and Polygram to bring our story to the screen”.

Franz Ferdinand have announced that drummer and founder member Paul Thomson has left the band. “Paul is leaving the band”, they say in a statement posted on social media. “It was a bit of a shocker for us when we found out, so it probably will be for some of you too”. He is replaced by Audrey Tait, who made her debut with the group at a performance in France last month.



Olivia Rodrigo has released the video for ‘Traitor’ from her ‘Sour’ album.

Flo Milli has unveiled new single ‘Ice Baby’ with a Colors performance of the track.

Health have released a new song featuring Poppy, titled ‘Dead Flowers’. This and their recent collaboration with Nine Inch Nails, ‘Isn’t Everyone’, will appear on the duo’s upcoming collaborations album, ‘DISCO4 Part 2’.

Idles have released the second part of their video for ‘The Beachland Ballroom’. Their new album, ‘Crawler’, is out on 12 Nov.

Elkka has shared new single ‘Voices’, from her upcoming ‘Harmonic Frequencies’ EP, which is out on 19 Nov.

P Money and Desperado have released new single ‘What’s Good’.

Obongjayar returns with new single ‘Message In A Hammer’. He’s also announced UK tour dates in April next year.

Dream Nails are back with new single ‘They/Them’. “This song is a rage-fuelled love letter to non-binary people everywhere”, says vocalist Leah Kirby. “As a non-binary person, or enby, living in the UK, I am constantly mis-gendered and often feel invisible. This is a banger for the fat enbys, the black enbys, the neurodiverse enbys, the disabled enbys. The enbys that don’t fit mainstream narrative of what genderqueer is. We refuse to be palatable and to fit into binary terms of ‘male’ and ‘female’. After hearing this song, I dare you to call me girl again!”



More winners have been announced for this year’s Artist & Manager Awards. Little Simz will rightly be named Artist Of The Year, while Metallic Inc’s Grace Ladoja will receive the Entrepreneur Award.

That’s not it for MMF and FAC’s big awards bash. The shortlist for Breakthrough Artist has also been announced. They are: Ashnikko, Becky Hill, Celeste, Central Cee, Easy Life, Griff, Headie One, KSI, Rina Sawayama and Sault.

But, hey, it’s not just called the Artist Awards, is it? No, there are managers in there too. And so, the shortlist for Breakthrough Manager is out as well. Up for that are: Bello, Ben Blackburn, Charlie Owen, Harry Knyt, Ian Tunstall & Rian Zoll-Khan, Jess Monroe, Kayleigh Thorpe and Matt Dodds.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |