Artist News Deals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Calvin Harris & Sam Smith, Jessie Ware & Roisin Murphy, Grimes, more

By | Published on Friday 28 July 2023

Sam Smith


Calvin Harris and Sam Smith have teamed up for new track ‘Desire’.

Jessie Ware has released a new version of her song ‘Freak Me Now’, featuring Roisin Murphy. “It is a huge honour to have the queen of disco, Róisín Murphy, on ‘Freak Me Now’”, says Ware. “I messaged her hoping she may be interested in featuring on the song and before I knew it she was in the studio. She is graceful, she is generous, she is pioneering, she is Róisín Murphy and she is on ‘Freak Me Now!’”

Grimes has released new single ‘I Wanna Be Software’.

ArrDee and Bugzy Malone have released a new track together called ‘One Direction’.

The Pretenders have released new single ‘A Love’, taken from new album ‘Relentless’, which is out on 15 Sep. “I suppose ‘A Love’ is the most traditionally Pretenders-sounding song on the album”, says Chrissie Hynde, “in the vein of ‘Kid’ or ‘Talk Of The Town’ or any of the mid-tempo ones over the years. I often see love/relationships almost in the same vein as drug addiction. Although, having said that, I know I am jaded and cynical”.

Matteo Bocelli – son of Andrea – has released new single ‘Chasing Stars’, which is written by Matthew Sheeran – brother of Ed. And also Ed. Ed Sheeran is a co-writer on the track. That’s probably the bigger news. “Like the Sheeran brothers, I grew up in a family where music was very appreciated”, says Bocelli. “Ed and Matthew wrote the song, but it seems like they wrote it for me. I really feel privileged to be the first to record it”.

VV Brown has released new single ‘Marginalised’.

Shamir has released new single ‘The Beginning’.

The Kills have released two new songs, ‘New York’ and ‘LA Hex’.

Lynks has released new single ‘Use It Or Lose It’, and announced that they have signed to Heavenly. “I turned 25 last year which is supposedly the ‘scientifically most attractive year of your life’”, says Lynks of the inspiration for the track. “I found this out and was like, ‘Damn, this is as good as I’m gonna get?’ I suddenly had this prang of, like, if I’m not fucking 24/7 I’m somehow wasting my youth. Letting it slip away. And then you end up making really bad choices”.

Emmeline has released new Kojey Radical collaboration ‘Dust’. “When Kojey came into the studio to hear what we had been making, he blessed us by gracing the concept with his own meditations on performativity”, she says. “The end result was beyond our wildest dreams of how fittingly he could inhabit our world with his own lyrical and vocal prowess”.

Clementine Valentine have released new single ‘The Rope’, taken from new album ‘The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor’, which is out on 25 Aug.

Hotline TNT – aka musician Will Anderson – has released new single ‘Protocol’ – the first for his new label Third Man. “This song is about falling on a sword”, says Anderson. “Sometimes you just gotta hold an L even when in your heart of hearts you know it’s not fair. Saving the relationship is worth taking the blame now and again”. UK tour dates have also been announced for November.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |