Artist News Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Calvin Harris & The Weeknd, Black Pink & Selena Gomez, Ty Dolla $ign & Nicki Minaj, more

By | Published on Friday 28 August 2020

The Weeknd


Calvin Harris and The Weeknd have released new single ‘Over Now’.

Black Pink and Selena Gomez have released a new single together, ‘Ice Cream’. Black Pink’s new album, ‘The Album’, is out on 2 Oct.

Ty Dolla $ign has released new track ‘Expensive’, featuring Nicki Minaj.

St Vincent has released a new version of her song ‘New York’, featuring X Japan frontman Yoshiki.

Faithless have announced that they will release their first album for ten years, ‘All Blessed’, on 23 Oct through BMG. “In this troubled and increasingly violent world, lyrically the album tries to reflect what has always been the Faithless manifesto”, say the band. “Be conscious, be caring, love yourself so you can love others and understand who you are and where you are”. Here’s new single ‘Synthesizer’.

Octavian has released new single ‘Famous’, featuring Gunna and Saint Jhn.

FKA Twigs has released the video for ‘Sad Day’, from her ‘Magdalene’ album, made in collaboration with filmmaker Hiro Murai.

Ghostpoet has released the video for ‘I Grow Tired But Dare Not Fall Asleep’, the title track from his latest album. He’s also announced a handful of UK live dates for early next year, including a performance at EartH in London on 5 Mar.

Mastodon have released new track ‘Rufus Lives’, taken from the new Bill & Ted movie ‘Bill & Ted Face The Music’.

William Shatner has released new single ‘The Thrill Is Gone’, featuring guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and taken from his new album ‘The Blues’. The album is out on 2 Oct.

Doves have released new single ‘Cathedrals Of The Mind’. “The song stems from a single hook, which developed to evoke this expansive internal monologue, this never-ending chasm of thought”, says guitarist Jez Williams. “Subconsciously, through words thrown against it and made to fit, it came to be about someone always being on your mind. The listener can form their own ideas. For me, it was about the loss of Bowie”.

Shamir has released new single ‘Running’.

Clipping have announced that they will release new album ‘Visions Of Bodies Being Burned’ on 23 Oct through Sub Pop. From it, this is ‘Say The Name’.

Keep Shelly In Athens have released new single ‘Neon Glare’. New EP ‘Defy Me’ is out on 12 Nov.

Girl In Red has released new single ‘Rue’. “I wrote this song for my loved ones who are affected by my mental health”, she says. “I will always try my best to get better for them, and I am forever grateful for their presence in my life”.

99 metal stars – including Trivium’s Matt Heafy, Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher and Fear Factory’s Burton C Bell – have recorded a version of ’99 Bottles Of Beer’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |