Artist News Business News Deals Education & Events Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Climate Music Blowout, Elton John & Charlie Puth, Tom Morello & Bring Me The Horizon, more

By | Published on Thursday 23 September 2021

Climate Music Blowout


Wise Music Group has acquired the Emily Music Corporation, which includes in its catalogue songs by Lee Pockriss like ‘Catch A Falling Star’ and ‘Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini’. “Wise Music is honoured to have been trusted with the important musical legacy of Lee Pockriss and will ensure his timeless classics such as ‘Itsy Bitsy’, ‘Catch A Falling Star’ and ‘Johnny Angel’ remain part of America’s great musical heritage for many generations to come”, says Wise Music USA CEO Tomas Wise.

Kobalt has announced the signing of Modest Mouse’s lead singer and songwriter Issac Brock to a global publishing deal. “I’m THRILLED to be partnering with Kobalt to represent my writing on our new album ‘The Golden Casket'”, says Brock. “I really value the passion the whole team have shown for Modest Mouse and the transparency with which they run their business”.

Producer/writer duo Goldfingers have signed a worldwide publishing agreement with BMG. “We are really excited to be joining such a creative company at BMG and can’t wait to get to work with the incredible team of people who, like us, put their love for music at the core of everything they do”.



IMPALA has elected its new board, set to steer the pan-European organisation for the independent music sector for the next two years. Companies and organisations with a rep on the board include Beggars Group, AIM, AIM Ireland, Better Noise, Cooking Vinyl and Epitaph. Under a new scheme, each entity on the board will also have a second representative from within their company or membership, to help bring in younger executives who will contribute new ideas to the association.

Jenny Swiatowy has been promoted to SVP of Creative Sync Licensing & Brand Partnerships for Universal Music’s Capitol Music Group in the US. “I’m honoured to lead this exceptionally dynamic, talented and seasoned team that has executed game-changing partnerships for artists across every CMG label, and has performed magnificently during these especially challenging times”, she says.



Music Declares Emergency, Adapt and Bird On The Wire have announced a new conference called Climate Music Blowout. Taking place at EartH in London on 17 Oct, the event will see climate experts, music industry executives and artists discuss ways to ensure the sustainable development of the UK music industry. “The UK music industry has taken a leading role in responding to the climate emergency in word and deed”, says the event’s organisers. “We look forward to welcoming all those who believe that music can help create safer, better, greener futures to Climate Music Blowout to decide on what we need to do, who we need to do it, and how we can bring everyone together to ensure it happens”. More info here.



St Vincent‘s mockumentary ‘The Nowhere Inn’ is to receive its UK premiere at this year’s Doc N Roll Festival on 29 Oct at the Barbican in London. St Vincent will also be on hand for a Q&A. Various other screenings will follow around the UK. More info here.



Elton John and Charlie Puth have released new collaboration ‘After All’. The song is taken from John’s upcoming collaborations album, ‘The Lockdown Sessions’. Obviously. “Charlie is an amazing musician; we just hit it off”, says John. “With ‘After All’, Charlie and I were in the studio, just the two of us. I played electric piano and actually wrote the song all the way through and then Charlie wrote the lyrics pretty quickly. He’s incredibly quick, Charlie. We just had an amazing chemistry in the studio”.

Tom Morello has released new single ‘Let’s Get The Party Started’, featuring Bring Me the Horizon. Says Morello: “Bring Me The Horizon is really the current standard bearer of hard rock/metal today, and thank God for them for that. I had a couple of huge riffs and we just started mashing it up with Zakk Cervini, who has worked with them before. This song also has one of my favourite guitar solos that I’ve played in quite a while, as I was really digging deep to make a solo as devastating as the track”.

Vic Mensa is back with new single ‘The Taste’, featuring longtime collaborator CJ The Chicago Kid.

Having recently announced that they will be putting out their new album, ‘The Myth Of The Happily Ever After’, Biffy Clyro have released its first single, ‘A Hunger In Your Haunt’.

Alt-J are back with new single ‘U&ME’. “It’s about being at a festival with your best friends, having a good time, togetherness, and the feeling in life that nothing could be any better than it is right now”, says the band’s Gus Unger-Hamilton. But does this mean there’s a new album on the way? No. Oh wait, yes. ‘The Dream’ will be out on 11 Feb 2022.

Damon Albarn has released another track from his upcoming solo album ‘The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows’. Here’s ‘Royal Morning Blue’.

With their new album ‘Bright Magic’ out this Friday, Public Service Broadcasting have released one more single from it, ‘Der Rhythmus Der Maschinen’ featuring Blixa Bargeld.

Let’s Eat Grandma are back with their first single for three years, ‘Hall Of Mirrors’.

Former Maccabees frontman Orlando Weeks will release his second solo album, ‘Hop Up’, on 14 Jan 2022. First single ‘Look Who’s Talking Now’ is out now. “[This] is a love song”, he says of it. “A song about expectations being fulfilled and exceeded. About knowing what’s coming and still being exultant when it actually happens”.

Alabama 3 release ‘Step 13’ – their first album since the death of founding member The Very Reverend D Wayne Love in 2019 – this Friday. From it, this is ‘Petronella Says’. The release coincides with new ‘Sopranos’ prequel movie ‘The Many Saints Of Newark’ hitting cinemas, which, like the series, uses the band’s song ‘Woke Up This Morning’ as its theme music.

Dream Theater have released new single ‘Invisible Monster’. The band’s fifteenth studio album, ‘A View From The Top Of The World’, is out on 22 Oct.

Full Of Hell have released new single ‘Eroding Shell’. Their new album, ‘Garden Of Burning Apparitions’, is out on 1 Oct.

T Evann has released new single ‘Pointing The Finger’, featuring Oscar Lang. His new EP, ‘Pocus’, is due on 22 Oct.

Mandy, Indiana are back with new single ‘Bottle Episode’, and news that they will release their debut EP – ‘…’ – on 19 Nov. “I wanted to build up on the military style of the track, but in a very slow crescendo, and not in a very obvious way”, says vocalist Valentine Caulfield of the single. “The lyrics talk of men waiting, moving forward; war is never mentioned, yet it is obvious that the men are waiting for death. The song ends with the men almost dancing as the bullets hit them”.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |