Artist News Business News Industry People Labels & Publishers Live Business One Liners Releases

One Liners: Coachella, Sony Music, Megan Thee Stallion, more

By | Published on Monday 1 February 2021



The Coachella festival in California has again been pushed back due to COVID-19. Originally scheduled for April last year, the festival was postponed to October and then to April this year. The latest set of dates have now been pulled due to a public health order prohibiting it from taking place.



Sony Music has launched a new label, XXIM Records, as an imprint of its Masterworks division. It will work with experimental artists in genres such as neo-classical, post-rock and ambient. “The intersection of acoustic instrumentation and electronic sounds is presenting exciting new creative avenues for artists and attracting increasing numbers of fans around the world”, says co-head of Masterworks, Per Hauber. Signings at launch include Eydís Evensen, Uèle Lamerore, Hugar and Stimming X Lambert.

Music distributor Ditto has launched a blockchain-powered decentralised finance (or de-fi) company, Opulous, to provide loans to musicians. “Musicians are often largely overlooked when it comes to traditional banking loans, or the terms are so unfavourable it isn’t worth their time”, says Ditto CEO Lee Parson. “Using de-fi, Opulous cuts out traditional banking, providing musicians a platform with minimal interest payments, while giving investors the chance to stake a claim in one of the most exciting and fastest growing financial industries in the world”.



Music publisher Peermusic has appointed Matt Phipps-Taylor to the role of Chief Information Officer, replacing Jeff Witcher, who is retiring. He was previously Chief Data Officer at UK collecting society PPL. “His experience will be invaluable as we continue to develop neighbouring rights administration technology”, says Executive Chair Mary Megan Peer.



Megan Thee Stallion has released a Joel Corry remix of her track ‘Body’.

J Balvin, YG and Tyga feature on a new remix of ‘Spicy’ by Ty Dolla $ign.

Jpegmafia have released new single ‘Fix Urself’. Their new EP, ‘EP2’, from which the track is taken, is out on 12 Feb.

Rob Zombie has released new single ‘The Eternal Struggles Of The Howling Man’. The track is taken from his new album, ‘The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy’, which is out on 12 Mar through Nuclear Blast.

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu has released new single ‘Gum Gum Girl’.

Desire have released new single ‘Zeros’.

Årabrot have announced that they will release new album, ‘Norwegian Gothic’, on 9 Apr. From it, this is new single ‘The Lie’.

FEMM have released new single ‘Come & Go’.

Chad VanGaalen has released new single ‘Samurai Sword’. His new album, ‘World’s Most Stressed Out Gardener’, is out on 19 Mar.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |