Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Coldplay, Bastille, The Wombats, more

By | Published on Thursday 18 August 2022



Sentric-owned Black Rock has signed a deal to administer Adesso Music’s new publishing operation, Adesso Music Publishing. “Starting Adesso Music Publishing was the next logical step for us once we had the label up and running”, says AMP boss Geoff Muncey. “We see ourselves as a family of like-minded individuals and that’s exactly how we saw what Mark [Lawrence] had successfully built with Black Rock”.

Distributor Proper Music Group has signed a deal with Mascot Label Group to handle its physical product sales and distribution across the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. “We’re THRILLED to be entering a new relationship with Proper and we’re excited about how we can all grow the Mascot Label Group family in the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, together”, says Mascot CEO Ed Van Zijl. “We have a number of iconic names and upcoming young artists in our catalogue to come and feel we can do some special things together”.



Sony Music Publishing has opened a new office in Lagos, Nigeria, appointing Godwin Tom as Managing Director. “I am honoured and humbled by the opportunity to work for the number one music publisher in the world”, he says. “Africa has so much talent, culture and uniqueness to share with the rest of the world and I am excited to be a part of the incredible global network of teams that will help build a home for Africa’s best songwriters”.



Coldplay have released the video for ‘Humankind’ from their ‘Music Of The Spheres’ album.

Bastille have released new single ‘Revolution’, taken from the upcoming expanded edition of their ‘Give Me The Future’ album. “The chorus is about the intimacy of human connection in the context of some science fiction, space-centred imagery”, says frontman Dan Smith. “But it’s also about the idea of those amazingly thoughtful people who spend their lives trying to change the world in a positive way”.

The Wombats have released new single ‘Is This What It Feels Like To Feel Like This?’, the title track of a new EP, which will be out on 18 Nov. “I remember driving past an extremely rundown hotel and wondering what the hell could be going on in there, and that’s where this song was born”, says frontman Matthew Murphy. “It’s about catching someone in a compromising situation that’s very unusual for their specific character and is far more fitting for your own”.

Gogol Bordello have released new single ‘Take Only What You Can Carry’, featuring Ukrainian band Kazka and with lyrics penned by Ukrainian poet Serhiy Zhadan. “It’s something that I’ve never done before; use someone else’s poetry for lyrics”, says frontman Eugene Hutz. “But here, the idea was to bring three diverse Ukrainian artists together into a knuckle for a continuous morale boost to the fighters and refugees”. New album, ‘Solidaritine’, is out on 16 Sep.

Andrew Broder has announced new album ‘The Show Original Soundtrack’, an extension of his work on Alan Moore’s film ‘The Show’. “Over the last few years, I have grown into a phase of my work with a greater focus on physicality – I want to get beat up by music and create sound that the body responds to – less precious, more confident”, he says. “Meeting and jamming with techno artists like Boys Noize and Dustin Zahn unlocked something for me about the therapeutic and collective nature of dance music”. Here’s first single ‘Herbert’.

Autopsy have released ‘Skin By Skin’, the first single from their new album ‘Morbidity Triumphant’, which is out on 30 Sep. “Here’s one to crawl under your skin and rot you from the inside out”, say the band. “[Guitarist] Eric Cutler has a knack for writing riffs that creep even us, the band, out and this song is a perfect example of that. Get ready to feel uncomfortable, foam at the mouth and bang your fiendish head at the same time!”

The Soft Pink Truth – aka Drew Daniel of Matmos – has released a cover of Coil’s ‘The Anal Staircase’, ahead of the release of new EP ‘Was It Ever Real?’ tomorrow. New album, ‘Is It Going To Get Any Deeper Than This?’, is out on 21 Oct.

FEMM have released new EP ‘The Six’, and posted the video for the title track.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |