Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Coldplay, Marina, BRIT Awards, more

By | Published on Thursday 6 May 2021



One Media iP has acquired the writer’s share on the songs catalogue of August Darnell, who you probably know better as Kid Creole. The deal covers more than 250 songs released by Kid Creole And The Coconuts. “I started Kid Creole And The Coconuts in 1979. I had no idea then that I was destined to enjoy success around the world for the next 40 years”, says Darnell. “With the team at One Media iP and their Harmony iP initiative I have now ensured my musical legend will continue for another 40 years”.



Warner Chappell has hired Michael LoBiondo as Head Of Business Development. “With increased activity around catalogue acquisitions and new digital platform licensing, the company is ideally positioned to further capitalise on opportunities in the market and I’m excited to contribute to the growth of the company”, he says.

Exceleration Music, a new venture that is “focused on investing in independent labels and providing personalised solutions to their entrepreneurs and artists”, has appointed Britnee Foreman as Head Of Data Strategy And Digital Operations. “I am delighted to be joining a team of industry powerhouses who are truly passionate for the mission at hand”, she says. “I’m excited for the innovation and opportunity we can bring into the indie space. It is such an honour to be a part of Exceleration at such a formative time”.



Coldplay will premiere their new single, ‘Higher Power’, via a link up with the International Space Station tonight. Why not, eh? Space is the place. You’ll be able to watch it at midnight tonight here.

Marina has released a ‘Purge The Poison’ remix featuring Pussy Riot.

LUMP – aka Laura Marling and Tunng’s Mike Lindsay – will release new album ‘Animal’ on 30 Jul. Here’s the title track.

Mitski has released new track ‘The End’, written for graphic novel ‘This Is Where We Fall’.

The estate of Phife Dawg has posthumously released a track by the rapper, ‘French Kiss Deux’, featuring Illa J.

Liars will release new album ‘The Apple Drop’ on 6 Aug. From it, this is new single ‘Sekwar’.

Max Cooper will release new EP, ‘Maps’, on 24 Jun. From it, this is new single ‘Weakness Of The Flesh’, featuring Samad Khan.

Dot Allison will release new album ‘Heart Shaped Scars’ on 30 Jul. From it, this is new single ‘Long Exposure’.

Tennin has released new single ‘Tennizer’.

Lunatraktors have released new single ‘Rigs Of The Times’.



The Weeknd will perform at this year’s BRIT Awards. So that’s quite a vote of confidence for the BRITs.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |