Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Cole Taylor, Universal, Will Young, more

By | Published on Tuesday 28 May 2019

Cole Taylor


One Media IP has acquired the writer’s share in a number of songs by country songwriter Cole Taylor for $260,000, including the hits ‘Sippin On Fire’, performed by Florida Georgia Line, and ‘Home Alone Tonight’, performed by Luke Bryan.



Universal’s Verve Label Group has promoted Jamie Krents to Executive Vice President and Dahlia Ambach Caplin to SVP A&R. “Jamie is the heart and soul of Verve”, says group CEO Dickon Stainer. While “Dahlia is a force of nature”.

Downtown Music has promoted Roberto Neri to EVP UK and Head Of European Business Development. He joined Downtown in 2015 when it acquired Eagle-i Music.



Will Young has released new single ‘My Love’, taken from his upcoming new album ‘Lexicon’. He’s also touring in October.

Alexisonfire have released new single ‘Complicit’. “‘Complicit’ is about recognising the unfair advantages that we are afforded as white, heterosexual males”, says George Pettit of the track. “It’s about rejecting regressionist ideas of racism, misogyny and hetero supremacy. It’s about accepting that there is no freedom and no future in a world that is not inclusive”.

Banks has released the video for her latest single, ‘Gimme’.

Fujiya & Miyagi have released new track ‘Gammon’. “It’s hard to ignore the split in opinion in the UK so I thought we should address it”, says the band’s David Best. “I know nobody would listen to Fujiya & Miyagi for our political insight but morally I felt I wanted it to be known where I stood. It’s easy to over simplify the reasons why people want to leave the EU. Being a racist is definitely one of them though. I also wanted to poke fun at the other side of the argument and their sense of entitlement”.

Ionnalee has released new single ‘Remember The Future’. The track is taken from her new album of the same name, out this Friday.

Yizzy has released the video for new single ‘Deh Suh’.

Thandii have released new single ‘Honey’. Their new EP, ‘Serious Town’, is out on 5 Jul.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | |