Artist News Business News Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Corey Taylor, Yusuf/Cat Stevens, Anohni And The Johnsons, more

By | Published on Wednesday 17 May 2023

Corey Taylor


Universal Music’s label services division Virgin Music has announced three promotions in the US. Leslie Cooper is now SVP Artist Development & Special Projects, Marisa Di Frisco becomes VP National Promotion, and Lauren Holman moves up to VP Streaming Marketing.

Warner Chappell has promoted Amber Davis to the role of Senior Vice President. “I’m honoured to be stepping into this wider role at Warner Chappell Music”, she says. “We have an incredible team here and a roster of world-class songwriters that I’m extremely privileged to work with. I’m excited to carry on discovering the best UK talent whilst also working with our senior leadership team to drive the company forward”.



Corey Taylor has released ‘Beyond’, the first track of his upcoming second solo album ‘CMF2’.

Yusuf/Cat Stevens has shared new single ‘All Nights, All Days’. His new album ‘King Of A Land’ is out on 16 Jun.

Anohni And The Johnsons have announced that they will return with new album ‘My Back Was A Bridge For You To Cross’ on 7 Jul. “I’ve been thinking a lot about Marvin Gaye’s ‘What’s Going On’. That was a really important touchstone in my mind [for this album]”, says Anohni. “Some of these songs respond from the present day to global and environmental concerns first voiced in popular music over 50 years ago”. Out now is new single ‘It Must Change’.

Ane Brun has released new single ‘Hand In The Fire’, taken from new compilation ‘Songs 2013-23.

Spoon have released new single ’Sugar Babies’, taken from new EP ‘Memory Dust’, which will be out on 13 Jun.

Girl Ray have released new single ‘Up’. “Written at the beginning of my current relationship, ‘Up’ deals with all the emotions of a fledgling romance: adoration, self-doubt and everything in between”, says the band’s Poppy Hankin. “Musically we wanted to pay homage to the sparseness of Queen’s ‘Cool Cat’ and the groove of Bowie’s ‘Fame’”. New album ‘Prestige’ is out on 4 Aug.

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard have announced that they will release their 24th studio album ‘PetroDragonic Apocalypse; or, Dawn Of Eternal Night: An Annihilation Of Planet Earth And The Beginning Of Merciless Damnation’ on 16 Jun. Out now is new single ‘Gila Monster’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | |