Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Del Amitri, The Pretty Reckless, Sean Douglas, more

By | Published on Thursday 7 May 2020

Del Amitri


Del Amitri have signed a new record deal with Cooking Vinyl. “Del Amitri are THRILLED to have signed with Cooking Vinyl, a company whose working methods and rugged independence we have long admired”, says frontman Justin Currie. The band will release their first studio album since 2002 next year.

Fearless Records has signed The Pretty Reckless to a new record deal, with new music set for release imminently. Vocalist Taylor Momsen will also play an acoustic performance as part of the label’s Fearless At Home virtual festival on Saturday.

Songwriter and producer Sean Douglas has signed a new publishing deal with Warner Chappell, which sees him return to the company after four years with Sony/ATV. “We’re THRILLED to welcome Sean back to the fold”, says the Warner publisher’s US A&R dude Ryan Press.



UK music charity Help Musicians has appointed Evelyn Glennie as its new President, making her the first woman in the organisation’s almost hundred year history to hold the role. “It is a great pleasure for me to accept the position of presidency of Help Musicians”, she says. “The incredibly important all-encompassing role Help Musicians have within the music industry is immense, whether through their cutting-edge research or their immediate call to action in drastic times as we are presently experiencing”.

Anders Lindberg has been appointed Marketing Director of Warner Music Nordics. Lindberg started his career at Warner, leaving in 2008 and going on to work for Sony Music and Universal Music. “I’m delighted to be coming home to Warner”, he says. Oh Anders, Anders, Anders. Why did you ever leave?



Lady Gaga has announced that she will now release her new album, ‘Chromatica’, on 29 May. She postponed the original April release in March, saying that she didn’t feel it was right to release new music in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Weezer have released new single ‘Hero’. The release of their new album, ‘Van Weezer’, has been postponed. A new release date has not yet been announced.

Jamie XX has released the video for recent single ‘Idontknow’.

Jehnny Beth has released new single ‘Heroine’. “When I think of this song, I think of Romy from The xx strangling my neck with her hands in the studio”, she says. “She was trying to get me out of my shell lyrically, and there was so much resistance in me she lost her patience”.

NZCA Lines has released new single ‘Real Good Time’. The song, he says, “stars an unhinged narrator arriving uninvited to a scary dance party”. His new album, ‘Pure Luxury’, is out on 10 Jul.

Squid have released the video for new single ‘Sludge’, created using 360° videos sent in from fans in lockdown around the world.

G Flip has released new single ‘Hyperfine’. “I started playing this live on my album tour late last year and people really got around it and have been demanding it ever since”, she says. “If you’re not feeling ‘fine’ right now, don’t be afraid to speak up about it. We’re in this together”.

Andy And The Odd Socks – who either mean nothing to you or are treated as gods in your home – have confirmed that they will release their new album, ‘Who’s In The Odd Socks?’, on 22 May. Anyone who pre-orders the CD through their website will be able to get a personalised birthday song for their child, which I can already tell you is going to make me very popular. Here’s new single ‘Save All The Animals’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |