Artist News Business News Deals Digital Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers Media One Liners Releases

One Liners: Dua Lipa, Roddy Ricch, Joel Little, more

By | Published on Friday 4 June 2021

Dua Lipa


Hipgnosis has acquired the catalogue of songwriter and producer Joel Little – best known for his work with Lorde. “Joel is one of the most important songwriters in the world today”, says Hipgnosis founder Merck Mercuriadis. “More than eight years on from the iconic song that is [Lorde’s] ‘Royals’, he has continued to deliver massive hits for Lorde, Taylor Swift, Khalid, Imagine Dragons and many more. It’s wonderful to welcome Joel to the Hipgnosis Family”.

Israeli music publisher Amusica Songs Management has joined international digital licensing agency IMPEL. “We are really excited to be welcoming Amusica”, says IMPEL CEO Sarah Williams. “This also marks an important moment for IMPEL as we expand beyond what is traditionally perceived to be ‘Anglo-American’ repertoire to embrace other qualifying works in other languages. This is a reflection both of our own goals and of the way in which the global music landscape is maturing”.



The US Recording Academy has elected Tammy Hurt as its new Chair of the Board Of Trustees. She replaces Harvey Mason Jr, who recently became permanent CEO of the organisation. Rico Love was also elected as Vice Chair and Om’Mas Keith as Secretary/Treasurer. Christine Albert remains Chair Emeritus. “I’m in awe of the amazingly talented group that’s been elected to lead this new era of the Academy and really excited at the possibilities as I start this journey with Tammy, Rico, Om’Mas, and Christine”, says Mason. “I know this group is going to do great work as we continue to transform the Academy and support the music community”.

Universal Music’s Def Jam in the US has promoted Nicki Farag to Executive Vice President and General Manager. She was previously EVP Promotion. “Nicki is a seasoned, consummate professional and true leader”, says CEO Jeffrey Harleston. “She has the unique ability to understand and inspire confidence in artists, the passion and tenacity to champion their artistry and the tireless energy to rally her staff to compete and achieve greatness”.



Amazon has announced a new music show, featuring Billie EilishHER and Kid Cudi over three episodes. ‘The Prime Day Show’ – named to mark the company’s annual scheme to get customers to buy discounted shit they don’t want or need – will “immerse customers in a unique experience that fuses performance and storytelling, transporting fans to worlds inspired by Paris, The Dunbar Hotel and outer space”. Or so it says here. It’ll be available from 17 Jun and will disappear after 30 days.



Dua Lipa has released a new song ‘Can They Hear Us’, taken from the soundtrack of new movie ‘Gully’.

Roddy Ricch has released his first solo track of 2021, ‘Late At Night’.

Pa Salieu has released new single ‘Glidin’, featuring Slowthai. He’s also announced UK tour dates in November.

J Cole has released the video for ‘Punchin The Clock’, from his new album ‘The Off-Season’.

Belly has released new single ‘Zero Love’, featuring Moneybagg Yo.

Bad Bunny has released new single ‘Yonaguni’.

Tinashe has released new single ‘Pasadena’.

John Mayer has released new single ‘Last Train Home’. His new album, ‘Sob Rock’, will be out on 16 Jul.

Mykki Blanco has released new single ‘Summer Fling’, featuring Kari Faux. “I wanted ‘Summer Fling’ to feel like a song I could have heard at my middle school dance, maybe it’s because those were the years in which I was coming of age”, says Blanco. “Y2K aesthetics still influence me heavily at some point in the creation of my songs. I always feel like the Y2K vibe haunts its way into the room and makes its presence felt on my records”.

Jasiah has released new track ‘Art Of War’, featuring Rico Nasty and Denzel Curry.

Darkthrone have released new single ‘Hate Cloak’. Their new album ‘Eternal Hails’ is out on 25 Jun. “‘Hate Cloak’ is certainly the slowest song on the album, there are plenty of ‘fast’ parts on Ted’s [Skjellum – vocals, guitar] songs, middle tempos and slow as well”, says drummer Fenriz. “The whole point of us having long songs is variation in tempos/pace, hence the epicness”.

Haiku Salut will release new album ‘The Hill, The Light And The Ghost’ on 27 Aug. “You could say the record is a miniature exploration of sound in relation to memory”, says the band’s Sophie Barkerwood. “Each piece is intimately connected to a place in time”. Here’s an introductory video.

Molly Burch has released new single ‘Heart Of Gold’. Her new album, ‘Romantic Images’, is out on 27 Aug.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |