Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Ed Sheeran & Taylor Swift, Nicki Minaj & Lil Baby, Fred Again & India Jordan, more

By | Published on Friday 11 February 2022

Ed Sheeran


Universal’s Republic Records has expanded its partnership with K-pop company JYP Entertainment, they having worked together to launch girl group Twice in the US. “We are beyond delighted to move forward with Republic Records”, says JYP CEO Jimmy Jeong, so to develop a “major artist roster” together after “the successful kick-off Twice has brought”.



Ulf Zick has joined Utopia Music as Chief Marketing Officer. He was previously Managing Director of Universal Music Germany. He will officially take up his new role on 1 Apr. “Joining Utopia, after an incredibly fun, rewarding and educational time at Universal Music, is a matter of the heart to me”, he says. “I have been obsessed with music ever since I was a kid and never wanted to be in any other space”.



Ed Sheeran and Taylor Swift have released a new version of his song, ‘The Joker And The Queen’.

Nicki Minaj has released new single ‘Bussin’, featuring Lil Baby.

Fred Again has teamed up with India Jordan for new single ‘Admit It (U Don’t Want To)’. “It was such an effortless joy working with India on this”, he says. “We made it in like three sessions and finished it on the rooftop where I live. It was sick that while we were working on it, India could go and road test it when she’d play out and we ended up evolving the tune based on the reaction”.

Chase & Status are back with new single ‘When It Rains’, featuring Backroad Gee.

Saweetie has released new track ‘Closer’, featuring HER.

Willie Nelson has announced that he will release new album ‘A Beautiful Time’ on 29 Apr, which also happens to be his 89th birthday. Here’s first single ‘I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die’.

High On Fire’s Matt Pike and Mastodon’s Brent Hinds have teamed up for new song ‘Land’, taken from Pike’s upcoming solo album, ‘Pike v The Automaton.’

Foals have released new single ‘2am’. New album, ‘Life Is Yours’, will be out this summer.

Kate Nash has released new track ‘Imperfect’, which originally featured on the soundtrack of Netflix series ‘The Babysitters Club’.

Ibeyi will release new album, ‘Spell 31’, on 6 May. Here’s new single ‘Sister 2 Sister’.

Will Joseph Cook has announced that he will release his third album, ‘Every Single Thing’, on 20 May. Here’s new single ‘Little Miss’. He’ll be touring the UK next month too.

Lady Leshurr has released new track ‘Likkle Darling’.

You might think that a reboot of ‘The Texas Chainsaw Massacre’ is entirely unnecessary. Except – EXCEPT – for the fact that Colin Stetson is doing the soundtrack. From that soundtrack, this is a track called ‘Every Last One’. The film and full soundtrack are out next week.

Fantastic Negrito will release a new album and film titled ‘White Jesus Black Problems’ on 3 Jun. First single, ‘Highest Bidder’, is out now. He’s also playing the Jazz Cafe in London on 26-27 Jul.

Cancer Bats will release new album ‘Psychic Jailbreak’ on 15 Apr. Here’s the title track, of with frontman Liam Cormier says: “We needed to kick things off with a total banger of a track that makes you want to pump your fist in the air, smash your head to the beat, all while screaming the call to action, ‘Reject the fallacy of time!’“

Dälek are back with new single ‘Decimation (Dis Nation)’, the first single from new album ‘Precipice’, which is out on 29 Apr.

FEMM have released the video for ‘Outta The Sky’ from their latest album, ‘Tokyo Ex Machina’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |