Artist News Business News Deals Digital Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Emeli Sandé, TuneCore, Aaliyah, more

By | Published on Friday 20 August 2021

Kat Kennedy (Big Life Management), Emeli Sandé, Jeremy Lascelles, Tim Parry (Big Life Management)


Emeli Sandé has signed to Chrysalis Records. “I am THRILLED by my new partnership with the legendary Chrysalis Records”, she says. “I have been inspired by many of the artists on their impressive catalogue. I’m very proud to now be a part of this legacy”.



DIY distributor TuneCore has named Sarah Wilson the new head of its UK division. “I am THRILLED to take on this wonderful role at TuneCore, a dynamic and future-facing company”, she says. “Coming off the back of a growth phase during lockdown there is so much potential for continued expansion in the territories I’m overseeing”. Those territories include Ireland, New Zealand and Australia in addition to the UK.



Aaliyah‘s 1996 album ‘One In A Million’ has appeared on streaming services, despite objections from her family. It was announced earlier this month that her label Blackground Records would finally begin making her catalogue available digitally via a new partnership with Empire.

Little Mix will release a compilation marking their tenth anniversary, titled ‘Between Us’, on 12 Nov. As well as various hits, it will include five new songs. “It’s going to be great to have all our big hits as a band on one album for the first time, celebrating ten massive years of Little Mix”, says Jade Thirlwall. “We’re also really excited to release five brand new Little Mix songs that we’ve been creating”, adds Leigh-Anne Pinnock.

Rudimental and MJ Cole have released a new track together, ‘Remember Their Names’. Also featuring Josh Barry, the track will appear on Rudimental’s new album, ‘Ground Control’, which is out on 3 Sep.

Yungblud has released new single ‘Fleabag’. “I wrote ‘Fleabag’ in a really dark time of my life, when a lot of people around me had an expectation about what I should be”, he says. “This song is a kick back. A kick back against the world, a kick back against my friends, against my family and some of my fanbase. I am who I am, all I want to do is spread love and lead with my heart. I’ve always told people to be themselves, sometimes I have to remember that message myself”.

James Blake has released new single ‘Life Is Not The Same’. His new album, ‘Friends That Break Your Heart’, is out on 10 Sep.

Iron Maiden have released new single ‘Stratego’. Their new album, ‘Senjutsu’, is out on 3 Sep.

Asking Alexandria have released new single ‘Alone Again’. Their new album, ‘See What’s On The Inside’, is out on 1 Oct.

Wargasm have released new single ‘Salma Hayek’. Describing it as their “hot girl summer song”, the duo say: “The track transports you to the most nihilistic and egotistical parts of our brains, through the vessel of a sexy Kim Petras inspired chorus, and a metal dubstep (deathstep™) breakdown”.

Vök have released new single ‘No Coffee At The Funeral’.

Bishi will release her third album, ‘Let My Country Awake’, on 15 Oct. Here’s new single ‘Language Is An Ocean’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | |