Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Jubilee singles, Calvin Harris, Beabadoobee, more

By | Published on Friday 27 May 2022

The Queen


The Jubilee chart battle has begun! Is it a chart battle when the two contenders are aiming for different chart positions? Sarah Brightman and Alfie Boe’s new recording of ‘God Save The Queen’ is going for number one, while The Kunts are looking at number two with ‘Prince Andrew Is A Sweaty Nonce’.

Calvin Harris has released new single ‘Potion’, featuring Dua Lipa and Young Thug. “It’s an honour to work with Dua and Thug again”, he says. “They’re both such dynamic artists who have contributed so much to today’s musical landscape”. The track is taken from ‘Funk Wav Bounces Vol 2’, which Harris will release this summer.

Beabadoobee has released new single ‘Lovesong’. Her new album, ‘Beatopia’, is out on 15 Jul.

Russ Millions has released new single ‘Bab (Toma Tussi)’.

MIA has released new single ‘The One’, her first under a new deal with Island Records. New album, ‘Mata’, is due out later this year.

Empress Of has released ‘Dance For You’, taken from new EP ‘Save Me’, which is out on 24 Jun. “It was freezing outside”, she says of recording the song. “I was in a cave-like studio in the snow literally dancing as I wrote this. ‘Surrender to me like this’ is a touching lyric for me because I’m not hurt over this person anymore. I’ve come out the other side”.

Superorganism have released new single ‘On & On’. New album ‘World Wide Pop’ is out on 15 Jul.

D Double E has released new track ‘Roll Up’. His new EP, ‘Bluku! Bluku! 2’, is out on 1 Jul.

Hyperdub boss Kode9 has announced that he will release his first album since 2015 on 15 Jul, titled ‘Escapology’. Here’s a taste in the form of ‘Torus’.

Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs has released ‘The Sleeper’, the third track from his upcoming new album ‘When The Lights Go’, which is out on 22 Jul.

Katy J Pearson has released new single ‘Alligator’. Her new album, ‘Sound Of The Morning’, is out on 8 Jul.

Kate NV has released a new collection of instrumental improvisations, titled ‘Bouquet’, with all money raised from its sale going to the charity Helping To Leave to support its efforts in getting refugees out of Ukraine.

The Garden have released new single ‘Freight Yard’, taken from a new album set for release later this year.



Slipknot have announced that they will bring their Pulse Of The Maggots new acts festival to the UK on 10 Aug at The Mill in Birmingham. Sylosis will headline, with Heriot, All Hail The Yeti, Thrown Into Exile, Spiritworld, Orbit Culture, Cauldron and Rough Justice also on the bill.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |