Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Julia Michaels, Nick Jonas, YG & Big Sean, more

By | Published on Friday 26 February 2021

Julia Michaels


Universal Music Publishing has signed Julia Michaels to a global publishing deal. She has written for artists including Ed Sheeran, Justin Bieber, Janelle Monáe, Dua Lipa and Britney Spears, as well as being a successful artist in her own right. “I’m so excited to join UMPG’s family of artists and songwriters”, she says. “I can’t wait to keep making music that I love and to do it in my new home”.

Sony Music Publishing has signed country musician Kane Brown to a global deal, and also launched a joint venture publishing imprint with him, called Verse 2 Music. “Kane Brown is redefining boundaries with his dynamic artistry, all-around business acumen, and passion as a craftsman songwriter – his anthemic songs will live forever”, says Sony Music Publishing Nashville CEO Rusty Gaston.



BMG has appointed Rachel Menzies to the position of Senior Director Original Repertoire Services. “I’m eager to further strengthen BMG’s position as the home of the highest quality original music commissions, cultivating the best songwriting and composition talent from our world-class roster”, she says. “I look forward to working alongside the sync and production music teams to develop a proactive, bespoke offering to secure more creative and commercial media opportunities for our clients”.

Better Noise Music has promoted Dan Waite all the way up to President of the company. He was previously Managing Director, UK & Europe. “Dan Waite is a forward-thinking creative, and we are lucky to have him helping to steer the Better Noise ship with this new title of President”, says CEO Allen Kovac. “Dan is a consummate professional, and we look forward to him expanding our global footprint”.

Warner Music Group’s ADA Asia has announced the appointment of three senior executives. Chiou Rei Min has been named as Head Of Greater China; Jin Hwang as Head Of Korea and Tan Wei Keng as Director, Business Operations. “I’m beyond THRILLED with the unrivalled expertise and credibility these three widely respected executives bring to ADA Asia, which underscores the strength and unique attributes of the ADA brand”, says Managing Director, Chee Meng Tan.



Nick Jonas will release new solo album, ‘Spaceman’, on 12 Mar. The title track is out now.

YG and Big Sean have released new track ‘Go Big’, taken from the soundtrack of ‘Coming 2 America’.

Paul Weller has announced that he will release new album ‘Fat Pop (Volume 1)’ on 11 May. The album was recorded in lockdown by Weller, who then sent tracks to his band – drummer Ben Gordelier, guitarist Steve Cradock and bassist Andy Crofts – to flesh them out. The title suggests that this process may have been quite fruitful, with more fat pop songs in the bank.

Slowthai has released the video for ‘ADHD’ from his new album ‘Tyron’.

Noname will release her second album, ‘Factory Baby’, at some point later this year. To distract you from that vagueness, here’s new single ‘Rainforest’.

Ella Henderson and Tom Grennan have released the video for their single ‘Let’s Go Home Together’. Grennan has also announced solo tour dates for September this year.

CL has released new single ‘Wish You Were Here’, dedicated to her late mother.

AFI have announced that they will release their new album, ‘Bodies’, on 11 Jun. They’ve also released two new tracks, ‘Looking Tragic’ and ‘Begging For Trouble’.

Moonchild Sanelly has released a new remix of her track ‘Bashiri’, featuring Ebow and Aramboa. “I’m excited for everyone to hear this version of ‘Bashiri’ featuring my German boobeam Ebow”, says Sanelly. “When my European adventures led me to Vienna, where I met Aramboa and Ebow, we had to let you hear this version with a fellow female badass from the continent”.

Former Sunny Day Real Estate and Foo Fighters member William Goldsmith has launched new band Assertion with a single called ‘Supervised Suffering’. “A decade-long journey that started out walking away from music has led me right back to it and the very reason I started – but with a whole new appreciation and respect for it”, he says.

Tekno has released the video for ‘Designer’, from his recent album ‘Old Romance’.

Albertine Sarges has released new single ‘Oh My Love’.

Ama has released the video for ‘Dreams Vs Reality’ from her ‘Vs Everything’ album.

Wuh Oh has released new single ‘Saxy Beast’. “I finished the track in Athens in the summertime and I can still feel the sunshine whenever I hear it”, he says. “I’m so happy that everyone can now smile along to ‘Saxy Beast’ wherever they are”.

Mike Doughty’s Ghost Of Vroom have released new single ‘I Hear The Ax Swinging’.

Chad Vangaalen has released new single ‘Nightwaves’. The song, he says, is “about the endless news feed. Giving in to your digital calendar, when all that’s on your to-do list is checking the online updates. Like a William Gibson waking nightmare, boring marketed as sexy”.

Roch has released a new single, a cover of Kylie Minogue’s ‘Confide In Me’. “This year has made me nostalgic for pretty much everything”, she says. “Kylie’s music reminds me of better times – and she is the first artist I saw live. I wanted to record the cover partly as a sort of comfort blanket but also to pay homage to a musical icon”.



Nitin Sawhney has announced a livestreamed performance and Q&A on 27 Mar, to mark the release of his new album ‘Immigrants’. Tickets go on sale on 2 Mar here.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |