Artist News Business News Deals Education & Events Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Julian Casablancas, Daniel Avery, Laura Marling, more

By | Published on Wednesday 24 March 2021

Julian Casablancas


Concord Music Publishing has signed Julian Casablancas off of The Strokes. The deal covers his work outside his main band, including solo material and side project The Voidz. “We are beyond excited that Julian has joined Concord Music Publishing. Aside from helping to reclaim and redefine rock n roll for a generation, his ability to move between genres as a writer and performer has worked to cement his reputation as a preeminent creative force in music today”, say Concord’s SVPs of A&R, Tom DeSavia and Jeremy Yohai.

Warner Music has announced the acquisition of Russian indie label Zhara Music, rebranding it at Atlantic Records Russia. Zhara co-founder Emin will no longer be involved in running the label, but will remain signed to it as an artist. Co-founder (and fellow artist) Bahh Tee, who will stay on and head up the label as General Producer, says: “Emin and I have been on an incredible journey since we founded Zhara less than three years ago. Becoming part of the Warner Music family will help take our support for our artists to the next level both here and internationally. It’s a landmark day for me and my colleagues – we’ve really come of age”.



Funded by Partisan Records and supported by The Fela Anikulapo-Kuti Estate, jazz trumpeter Alex Polack has been awarded the first Fela Anikulapo-Kuti Scholarship at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music And Dance in London, allowing him to continue studying into his second year at the school. “I’m THRILLED to announce this gift from Partisan Records and The Fela Anikulapo-Kuti Estate”, says Trinity Laban Director of Music, Havilland Willshire. “The new scholarship furthers Trinity Laban’s commitment to widening access for talented and dedicated students like Alex Polack and honours an incredible musical and political figure who is part of our innovative and creative community”.



Daniel Avery provides the soundtrack to new short film ‘Void’, which has been released in support of mental health charity CALM. “We wanted to represent this feeling of paralysis that had integrated itself into our lives, and were drawn towards the distance we were feeling from the utter alchemy and escapism of the dancefloor”, say the film’s makers Tom Andrew and Sam Davis. “Now currently stood empty, clubs contain an atmosphere that is searching for the love and togetherness they have held, while also carrying a restrained potential to create the same again. We wanted to capture this, while bringing an honest vision of the present, suspended between these two worlds”.

Rag N Bone Man has released new single ‘Fall In Love Again’, taken from his upcoming new album ‘Life By Misadventure’, which is out on 7 May. “‘Fall in Love Again’ is a song Ben Jackson-Cook and I wrote on a boozy afternoon in Leiper’s Fork, Tennessee”, he says. “He did the melody and I did the lyrics. The song is about sabotage: sabotaging your own relationship for fear of commitment”.

The KLF have released new singles compilation ‘Solid State Logik 2’, which features a previously unreleased Jarvis Cocker collaboration, ‘Jarvis Joins The Jams (Trailer)’.

Black Midi have released new single ‘John L’. Their new album ‘Cavalcade’ will be out on 28 May.

Jungle have released new single ‘Keep Moving’.

Van Morrison has released new song ‘Only A Song’, from his upcoming album ‘Latest Record Project Vol 1’, which is out on 7 May.

Gwenno has released new single ‘Meur Ras Dhia Gernow (Thank You From Kernow)’.

Andy Stott will release new album ‘Never The Right Time’ on 16 Apr. From it, this is ‘The Beginning’.

Elkka has released new single ‘Burnt Orange’. Her new EP, ‘Euphoric Melodies’, is out on 21 May. “‘Euphoric Melodies’ started out as an exploration of what pulls me in, what makes me feel those moments of elation when writing music or listening to it or just when living life. The underlying theme seems to be warmth, euphoria and nostalgia, which is what plays out in this EP in different forms. Little did I know that as the EP came together nostalgia for euphoria would be so prevalent”.

Charlotte Spiral have released new single ‘Out Of Here’. “There is something about doing things over and over again in a monotonous way that makes a situation feel worse than it is, and I wanted to portray this throughout the song”, says vocalist Amy Spencer. The duo’s new EP ‘New Light’ is out on 9 Apr.



Laura Marling has announced UK tour dates in October, finishing up at the Roundhouse in London on 20 Oct. Tickets go on sale on Friday.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |